Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Traditional Film versus Modern Inkjet  (Read 4487 times)

JohnKoerner

Traditional Film versus Modern Inkjet
« on: January 12, 2009, 07:54:20 pm »

I am new to photography, and was wondering about many of these high $$ inkjet printers.

Do modern inkjet printers like the Epson Stylus Pro 7900/9900 really produce an end product that will last? I have been thinking about buying a nice printer, and was wondering how long are the images from such inkjet printers projected to last?

Do they last as long as a true photograph?

Thanks.

DarkPenguin

« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2009, 08:26:43 pm »

http://www.aardenburg-imaging.com/
http://www.wilhelm-research.com/

Depends on the ink and paper and how you display and store the prints.

I was watching the Ctein interview on one of the LuLa video journals the other day.  He indicated that dye transfer prints (a 100 y/o process) are like 30-40 years displayed and centuries stored.

Edit:  I think prints produced by my B9180 are supposed to have something like a 200 year life span according to Wilhelm.  I kind of doubt that but the lifespan is going to be good.  My old 1280 dye prints would fade in no time.  I haven't noticed (<- important) any fading so far with my B9180.

Edit 2: Most of my prints from the 70's and 80's have pretty much faded to non existence.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2009, 08:30:57 pm by DarkPenguin »

Mussi_Spectraflow

• http://www.spectraflow.com
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2009, 08:43:02 pm »