Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro  (Read 8024 times)

stewarthemley

  • Guest
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« on: January 12, 2009, 08:38:44 AM »

Well, we're off again. My macbook pro is not yet a year old but it's beginning to feel like I'm still on windoze. My Eye One Display 2 worked once, failed for a month, started working until this month then stopped. It works nicely through the measuring process but then crashes before saving the profile. It works perfectly on my windows systems so it seems to be a mac thing. I have un and reinstalled of course but no luck.

I "upgraded" (quotes imply heavy sarcasm) to 10.5.6 and maybe this is related though I can't say definitely because I only profile once a week and worked away from base just after Xmas. Does seem a bit of a coincidence though... Should add I've emailed X-rite but from my previous experience at "support" (QIHS) I'm asking for help here with more hope.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2009, 09:57:59 AM »

Couldn't hurt to run Profile First Aid, check that you have the latest version of the software used to drive the EyeOne and maybe even run the EyeOne diagnostics software.

If you create a new account and log in, can you calibrate?
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

stewarthemley

  • Guest
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2009, 10:56:14 AM »

Hi Andrew, first I want to say thanks for answering, again, and thanks for giving your advice so freely, literally! You first helped me learn about colour management about 8 years ago on DPP and here you are still helping after all these years...

I ran PFA as you suggested and it found 15 Hasselblad profiles that it thought were wrong, and partly fixed them (although I've had no problems running H's Phocus) but nothing related to Eye One. There were 155 profiles in total. I also created another account but could not calibrate in that either. I am using the latest version of the software, downloaded today and reinstalled yet again. Also no joy with EyeOne diagnostics.

It crossed my mind to revert to 10.5.4, which I still have as a download, but there I think there have been so many patches since then and I'm not familiar enough with macs yet to try that. It might also mess up other programs that are working just fine.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2009, 11:02:31 AM »

Quote from: stewarthemley
I also created another account but could not calibrate in that either.

That indicates its not a user level software conflict.

Do you have another machine you can try this on?

Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

stewarthemley

  • Guest
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2009, 11:10:27 AM »

Quote from: digitaldog
Do you have another machine you can try this on?

I ran it a couple of days ago on a windows (XP) desktop, and it was fine.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2009, 11:13:57 AM »

Quote from: stewarthemley
I ran it a couple of days ago on a windows (XP) desktop, and it was fine.

Was hoping another Mac running that same OS.

You might try booting in a Safe Mode (reboot with shift key down). Somewhere it sounds like a software conflict. I was hoping it was a user level issue but we know its not.

You might try editing a profile (just the name) in the ColorSync utility and see if saving that to disk also causes a crash. If so, something is hosed with the OS in terms of profiles. But its probably a conflict with the EyeOne Match software and something else. Off hand, I can't think of another software product you could download in demo mode to see if you could build a display profile with that puck.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

stewarthemley

  • Guest
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2009, 11:20:37 AM »

Somewhere it sounds like a software conflict

I was wondering if I could go back in time, so to speak, to when it was running ok, using a Time Machine backup....

edit addition: meanwhile I'll try booting in safe mode and editing a profile. Thanks for staying with this!
« Last Edit: January 12, 2009, 11:21:56 AM by stewarthemley »
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2009, 11:25:16 AM »

I was just able to build and save a profile with i1 Match under 10.5.6. So its something goofy with your system.

Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

stewarthemley

  • Guest
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2009, 11:34:57 AM »

Quote from: digitaldog
I was just able to build and save a profile with i1 Match under 10.5.6. So its something goofy with your system.

That's what I feared. So it's almost certainly a software conflict as everything else is working ok. I have deliberately run a lot of my apps to check for other problems - all ok. So I'll try the Time Machine option first and then may be start thinking about getting advice on how to revert to a previous OS version. Thanks again.
Logged

teddillard

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 691
    • http://www.teddillard.com
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2009, 11:55:53 AM »

hmm.  I just did the same with 10.5.5, worked normal, then upgraded to 10.5.6 and it did build it and saved the profile, but shut down when I said to "Finish Calibration".  It usually stays open.  

FWIW, have you tried Repair Disk Permissions?  I always do that when I don't know what else to do...
Logged
Ted Dillard

stewarthemley

  • Guest
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2009, 12:04:13 PM »

Hi Ted

Yes, it's the first thing I do too! I've got a useful (free) app called Onyx that has choices or automation. I just run it every few days as a "sensible thing to do". But no joy this time. I'm about to go the Time Machine route now, trying for a system restore, so if I stop answering posts... Good bye cruel world. http://luminous-landscape.com/forum/style_...ault/unsure.gif
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2009, 12:35:03 PM »

I'm not sure if I'd go TM to do this but what the heck, if you're backed up elsewhere, might work.

Sometimes just doing a clean install of OSX but allowing the existing user data to migrate is just faster and cleaner. You'll need to have access to some passwords and might have some software products as for serials.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

teddillard

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 691
    • http://www.teddillard.com
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2009, 12:41:42 PM »

Quote from: digitaldog
I'm not sure if I'd go TM to do this but what the heck, if you're backed up elsewhere, might work.

Sometimes just doing a clean install of OSX but allowing the existing user data to migrate is just faster and cleaner. You'll need to have access to some passwords and might have some software products as for serials.

I'd second that...  clean install, run all updates, etc etc.


Stewart?  Stewart?  SPEAK to me Stewart!!?  

(oh nooooo)
Logged
Ted Dillard

stewarthemley

  • Guest
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2009, 12:57:34 PM »

I'm here Ted...I chickened out! Too scared to try the TM option. Just looked too complicated and things they said would be there, weren't. So I'll take the advice of you guys and try a clean install of the original OSX plus updates. Could well be doing this till next Xmas but at least I'll go down fighting. Thanks for the help and humor, really helps.

edit: one important question: if I do a clean install, will all my apps and their settings be recognised and work as before? If it's no, I think I'll just go buy a Spyder and see if that copes!
« Last Edit: January 12, 2009, 01:03:24 PM by stewarthemley »
Logged

teddillard

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 691
    • http://www.teddillard.com
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2009, 02:18:39 PM »

Quote from: stewarthemley
I'm here Ted...I chickened out! Too scared to try the TM option. Just looked too complicated and things they said would be there, weren't. So I'll take the advice of you guys and try a clean install of the original OSX plus updates. Could well be doing this till next Xmas but at least I'll go down fighting. Thanks for the help and humor, really helps.

edit: one important question: if I do a clean install, will all my apps and their settings be recognised and work as before? If it's no, I think I'll just go buy a Spyder and see if that copes!

Well, if you, as Andrew says, migrate the existing user data over, (not sure from where you're going to do that...) then yes, it will do the apps and the prefs.  Or, well, it SHOULD.  User migration is sometimes a little wonky.  When I'm saying a clean install, I mean, well, a clean install...  format the drive, reinstall all the apps, you know.  The PIA way...  

OCD?  nah, not me...
Logged
Ted Dillard

Bill Caulfeild-Browne

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 313
    • http://www.billcaulfeild-browne.com
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #15 on: January 12, 2009, 05:40:28 PM »

Quote from: digitaldog
I was just able to build and save a profile with i1 Match under 10.5.6. So its something goofy with your system.


Im using eye one on two macs, a MacBook Pro and a Mac Pro, both with 10.5.6, and they run fine, FWIW.
Bill
Logged

Mark F

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 365
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #16 on: January 12, 2009, 08:19:48 PM »

I just bought the latest version of the Eye-One software a few days ago and there is a specific warning on the site not to update to 10.5.6 .

I had updated to 10.5.6 with automatic update, but it does not appear to prevent Eye-One from calibrating my iMac monitor properly.
Logged
Mark

stewarthemley

  • Guest
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #17 on: January 13, 2009, 04:02:57 AM »

Thanks Bill and Mark for the info. It's good to know that it can work on 10.5.6 but interesting to know that there's a warning not to update to it. Wonder why, and wonder why it still works? Maybe 10.5.6 causes some other programs to misbehave which in turn affects iOne? Just an uneducated guess.

I will be checking mac sites to see if I can just go back to 10.5.5 without losing all my settings - having done that so many times with windows (like, complete formats and total reinstall of everything...everything, I just don't know if I have the time or stomach for that right now. And I'm running VM Fusion for my accounting program. Losing that would be a BIG headache. Fortunately the Apple cinema display that the macbook pro feeds seems to be pretty stable and I never notice any change after calibrating so I'll take the easy route and hang on as long as possible and wait for a response from X-rite... Thanks again everyone.
Logged

Wayne Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3546
    • waynefox.com
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #18 on: January 13, 2009, 06:14:01 AM »

Quote from: stewarthemley
Thanks Bill and Mark for the info. It's good to know that it can work on 10.5.6 but interesting to know that there's a warning not to update to it. Wonder why, and wonder why it still works? Maybe 10.5.6 causes some other programs to misbehave which in turn affects iOne? Just an uneducated guess.

I will be checking mac sites to see if I can just go back to 10.5.5 without losing all my settings - having done that so many times with windows (like, complete formats and total reinstall of everything...everything, I just don't know if I have the time or stomach for that right now. And I'm running VM Fusion for my accounting program. Losing that would be a BIG headache. Fortunately the Apple cinema display that the macbook pro feeds seems to be pretty stable and I never notice any change after calibrating so I'll take the easy route and hang on as long as possible and wait for a response from X-rite... Thanks again everyone.

I'm dealing with an issue with my i1i0 table (still), and in a recent email the tech indicated they thought my problem might be USB interference introduced with 10.5.6.  This is apparently an issue, and it seems to affect some users and devices more than others.  I know that I cannot now manually read targets with a Rev. A  i1 Pro on my MacBook Pro with 10.5.6, although a Rev. D device worked fine even using the i0 table using 10.5.6.

My i0 table is normally on a machine still on 10.5.5, so the USB issue isn't related to that, but I'm going to try and manually read the targets on the 10.5.5 MacPro and see if the i1 spectro works better with 10.5.5.

I'm not sure what the USB conflict is about or what can be done to resolve it.
Logged

teddillard

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 691
    • http://www.teddillard.com
eye 1 display won't save profile on macbook pro
« Reply #19 on: January 13, 2009, 07:31:33 AM »

OK, now, I just had to ask, mostly because I was lying awake last night thinking about it.  (NO Stewart.  IT.  Not YOU.  LOL)

You did try a complete uninstall of i1, and a reinstall of the newest ver, right?

Logged
Ted Dillard
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up