Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Changing from MK to PK papers  (Read 2951 times)

fike

• Hiker Photographer
    • trailpixie.net
Changing from MK to PK papers
« on: January 11, 2009, 08:51:26 pm »

I have been printing almost exclusively on matte papers for the last four years. I like what matte papers look like under glass--no double-glare--and I like the archival qualities of matte papers.  I also think that they lend a slightly more watercolor-ish quality to them that I like.  After trying many papers, I have been working almost exclusively with Moab Entrada 190 or 290--a very nice and economical paper.

But I have had enough.

I am tired of needing to seal images with fixatives for standalone presentation--mounted on foamcore for example.  This has been a big pain for me. I do LARGE panoramic work. With my 7880, I print 24x60 inch panoramics.  Sealing and mounting these on foamcore is a pain in the @ss.  

• I am not willing to swap black inks on my 7880 to do both PK and MK--too expensive.
  • I am not enthusiastic about adding the RIP that allows both to be installed simultaneously--to risky.
  • Print longevity is very important to me.

So, I am consider changing over to PK ink.  I want deeper blacks. I want to mount a print and be done.  I want the substance and feel of a traditional RC paper.  

The current front-runners in order of preference.

1) Hahnemühle Fine Art Pearl
2) Harman Gloss FB AL
3) Ilford Galerie Gold Fibre Silk

I like the fiber feel and look of the Hahnemühle, I use it for my 11x17 portfolio, but I don't like the price.  I like the deep blacks, color and sharpness of Harman Gloss FB AL.  I like the price of Ilford Galerie Gold Fibre Silk.  If the Harman Gloss FB AL had some weave to it, I would be sold, but it's monotonously smooth.  

Are there any notable papers in this class that I am missing?  does anyone want to buy a lifetime supply of Moab Entrada real cheap.  It's a great paper!
Fike, Trailpixie, or Marc Shaffer

Wayne Fox