Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Defining a Workflow  (Read 8038 times)

Roger Calixto

Defining a Workflow
« on: January 10, 2009, 06:33:03 pm »

Hi all,

Like everything in this digital age, it's all possible if you know how. If you want to learn, google's your best friend. BUT, I'm at a turning point. I want to start to take my photography seriously and that means using the (digital) tools for what their worth and creating a workflow. I'm a Computer Engineer, so understanding computers isn't the problem, it's finding the proper guidance.

I need to learn to do the basic editing for print... but right this time. I know how to do a lot of it but I lack objectivity. I know how to sharpen, but how MUCH is the question. I know how to correct colors, but how much is too much? How do I know when if I don't know when? I guess what I seek is a tutorial / book / resource that is like taking a class at a community college. Something that shows the ropes and points out the pitfalls. The problem is that everyone and their brother has a book or a webpage on the subject.

I've found this DPReview e-book. Reputable site for starters, but does anyone else have any suggestions? Here there is the from Camera to Print, which covers a lot too, but is that where I should start?

(BTW I live in a country where I still don't dominate the language, so the local college is out of the question)    

Thanks!
KT
--------------
If my day job wasn't so cool, I'd quit and be a photographer =)

Steven Draper

• http://www.stevendraperphotography.com
Defining a Workflow
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2009, 09:39:13 pm »

KT, Hello and welcome to LL.

In all honesty this site is a great place to be exposed to all sorts of information, especially in the index and articles. Many of the contributors of the site / forums are high end artists, photographers who sell their work or work on assignments.