Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Bulk Printers for 4x6 & 5x7 sizes  (Read 8558 times)

Gary Gray

Bulk Printers for 4x6 & 5x7 sizes
« on: December 22, 2008, 11:25:59 am »

I've been outsourcing my customers 4x6 and 5x7 prints for the past several years and doing my larger prints in house.

I'm giving some thought to doing the smaller prints myself, as I believe my volume level is enough to justify purchasing the equipment.

Problem is, I don't really know what is out there, so I figured I'd run this up the flag pole here as there appears to be no shortage of professional printers on this site.

What I need is a reliable, high speed economical printer for doing 4x6 and 5x7 prints on standard glossy and luster papers with quality.  Desktop Inkjets are out of the question and I don't want to have to deal with replacing small cartridges every 30 prints.  I'm talking print productions of at least 100 prints in a batch.  All prints would be run from a Mac Pro, using Lightroom or Photoshop CS3.  I'd like to keep the cost as reasonable as possible (under $1000).

Any thoughts, comments or recommendations would be appreciated.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2008, 11:26:41 am by Gary Gray »

Tony B.

« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2008, 01:08:20 pm »

Gary, if you are looking for a pro printer to print your 4x6 and 5x7 prints and are using the same size papers and printing borderless I think the only option would be the Epson 3800(if it allows borderless on 4x6/5x7), it allows printing down to 4x6.  The others, 17" printers, Canon iPF 5000/5100 and Epson 4800/4880 have minimum paper sizes of around 8x10 so you would have to cut your 4x6 and 5x7 from larger sheets or rolls.

I would guess the 3800 allows approx. 50 sheets to be in the cassette so you would not be able to run a full 100 without adding paper.

I would also believe that the output on glossy would not be as good as what you get sending them out due to gloss differential.