Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Alpha 900 review request  (Read 4532 times)

MatthewCromer

Alpha 900 review request
« on: December 01, 2008, 01:39:05 am »

Michael,

I'm hoping you take a look at other RAW convertors than just Lightroom / ACR with the Alpha 900.  They just don't do such a hot job with the Sony dSLRs, particularly at high ISO.

The Aperture conversions I have seen have been a lot better.

Anyway, looking forward to reading your impressions. . .

barryfitzgerald

Alpha 900 review request
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2008, 09:11:31 am »

The review is out on the front page right now.

Very interesting read.

I have no experience of this camera, but I am a Minolta/Sony user (yes there are a few of us!) I see a mostly positive review, and some quirks, which I think Michael has addressed pretty well, for example the non smart card selection, no MLU with remote, and a few other things. I too dislike memory stick cards!

Just a typo error on the review, it is "SSM" not "SST" for supersonic motor, aka the built in non screw driven lenses, of which there are not that many at present. Sony have some things to work out in general, and I have been very critical of them in some respects (I don't think many users love their jpeg engine, ok non issue for raw shooters, but still valid), however, they seem to have got a grip on things of late, and this is a pretty appealing buy, for those who demand a FF option.

Nice review overall, objective, and clear.
« Last Edit: December 03, 2008, 09:12:17 am by barryfitzgerald »

michael

Alpha 900 review request
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2008, 09:55:42 am »

Barry,

Thanks for caching the typo.

Mathew,

I haven't tried Aperture with the A900. Now I will.

Thanks,

Michael

Brammers

Alpha 900 review request
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2008, 10:03:29 am »

A couple of minor questions and FYIs regarding your article Micheal.