Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: rodenstock v. schneider  (Read 6993 times)

geesbert

• http://www.randlkofer.com
rodenstock v. schneider
« on: November 23, 2008, 05:03:59 pm »

i am looking to buy two more lenses for my linhof 679 with an aptus 7 back.

schneider 47mm digitar or rodenstock 45mm digital

and

schneider 90mm digitar or rodenstock 90mm digital

for the wide lens i am leaning towards the rodenstock, it's half a stop faster and i was told the rear element is smaller, so movements a easier. image circle is a tad larger

for the normal lens i lean towards the schneider, again, faster, quite cheaper but it has a smaller imgae circle.

i am pretty new to large format and i have no really chance to try the lenses, so what would you choose?
is this a canon vs. nikon thing or are there real differences?

stefan
-------------------------
[url=http://ww

michaelnotar

rodenstock v. schneider
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2008, 10:03:06 pm »

while i dont have those lenses, i am a huge fan of schneiders, i have a 35mm digitar on my cambo WDS and it is darn near perfect, im super happy with it. i considered the WDS system with schneider lenses vs the horseman swd2 with rodenstock lenses, even though much more expensive i went with the WDS. for the wide angle, the schneider seem a hair better, about the price difference. i also have a rodenstock 105mm 5.6 digitar on a view camera, and i am very happy with it too. according to others, 105-150mm range both brands are practically the same.  so i went with the rodenstock since it was about $950-1000 the cheaper end of lenses. i have also been a fan of schneider lenses since my film days.

see captureintegration.com, they have some tests with the wds/swd and with schneider/rodenstock lenses.

i speak from using those lenses with my P1 P25 back, 22MP, 9u pixel size, 36x48mm sensor size. also the schneider 24mm is incredible, i have rented it.