Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sensor cleaning without adaptor  (Read 2088 times)

mcanyes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
    • www.dig-arts.biz
Sensor cleaning without adaptor
« on: February 02, 2005, 07:28:26 AM »

Just set the camera to M, the shutter to bulb and use a locking cable release. I cleaned my D100 lots of times like this. Just make sure the locking cable release really locks. Some cheap ones don't lock well.
Logged
Michael Canyes
Nikon stuff
www.dig-arts.biz

Giedo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 193
Sensor cleaning without adaptor
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2005, 02:43:22 PM »

Thanks,
I like creative solutions like this.
Giedo
Logged
Giedo

Giedo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 193
Sensor cleaning without adaptor
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2005, 04:30:43 AM »

Hi,

I'm trying to clean the CCD of a Nikon D100. As I am a Canon shooter myself and a friend gave me his Nikon D100 to clean, I'm not at all familiar with the Nikon menu.
The user guides tells me that I need an adaptor (to connect with the electricity net) to do a mirror lock up, but other sources tell I can do without it.
So far I have not succeeded.
Do I have to buy this adaptor for cleaning the CCD?

Thanks in advance for helping me out here.

Giedo
Logged
Giedo

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7793
Sensor cleaning without adaptor
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2005, 07:43:32 AM »

Also, make sure you have a full battery  :cool:

Francois
Logged
Francois

Lisa Nikodym

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1706
    • http://www.stanford.edu/~melkor/lisa_pictures/lisa_pictures.html
Sensor cleaning without adaptor
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2005, 08:09:02 PM »

On my D70, I just set it to the max exposure length of 30 seconds, and have an assistant (well, OK, helpful spouse actually) sitting by to time it and let me know when time's almost up.  Repeat as necessary.  :-)

Lisa
Pages: [1]   Go Up