Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: My ideal still life studio camera would have...  (Read 4747 times)

E_Edwards

My ideal still life studio camera would have...
« on: November 14, 2008, 05:51:14 pm »

I know still life is not very sexy, but we all have our needs:)

The other post about the Red announcement has made me think about what my ideal camera would be like. I'm a still life photographer, so my needs are different to those who shoot people or moving objects.

First of all, do I want video? Yes, why not, it will surely be handy. But usable video.

I would like a small, rugged but very portable camera with interchangeable lens mounts with their corresponding electronic connections. I want it to look good, a beautiful sleek design. I don't really want it to look like a bulky meccano set.

I would prefer technology that does away with the up and down mirror and the movement and noise that this introduces. Maybe a fixed mirror that becomes transparent with an electric pulse in sync with the shutter. I've seen this technology applied to glass.

I still want a superb 100% optical viewfinder, without paralax, large, bright and clear. I do not really want a digital viewfinder, no matter how good it is.

I want a square sensor, a sensor that I can crop with digital blinds to any shape and crop, either vertical or horizontal. I don't want to rotate the sensor, but I want a sensor that is big enough to allow all sorts of crops.

I don't want mega big files, something producing 80 to 100Mb files will do.

I want a technology that takes three or four instantaneous pictures that cover each primary color at once, producing superb color and detail with no hint of interpolation.

I don't care much about auto focus, but it there is one, I want it to have focus points that I can set at any point in the viewfinder.

I want to be able to shoot at high ISO with little noise.