Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2  (Read 28919 times)

Ray

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9380
Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2
« Reply #20 on: October 30, 2008, 09:32:00 AM »

Quote from: michael
G10 owners should relax. It would be very long till there's good raw support from at last one company.

Michael

I hope this is not true, Michael. I would hope that it would not be very long till there's good raw support. (Sorry! Couldn't resist  ).
Logged

michael

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5084
Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2
« Reply #21 on: October 31, 2008, 08:54:22 AM »

wont won't won't

Logged

Eric Myrvaagnes

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11097
    • http://myrvaagnes.com
Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2
« Reply #22 on: October 31, 2008, 09:08:34 AM »

Quote from: michael
wont won't won't
Now write it 500 times on the blackboard and I won't (would?) send you to the principal's office.  
Logged
-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my photo website. New images each season. Also visit my new website: http://ericneedsakidney.org

David Watson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 424
    • David Watson Photography
Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2
« Reply #23 on: October 31, 2008, 03:25:58 PM »

Quote from: Tim Gray
So if I import into Lightroom using the convert to DNG option, I'll be able to then edit the DNG file in LR? (or PS?)  Surely that isn't optimal as the conversion to DNG pre-supposes a knowledge of the way the RAW file has been constructed?  But if not optimal, good enough until ACR is updated?

Just tried importing as a DNG into Lightroom 2 and it does not work.

Richowens

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 903
Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2
« Reply #24 on: October 31, 2008, 04:36:42 PM »

David,

 The G10 is not supported yet in any Adobe app.

 Rich

Wayne Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3527
    • waynefox.com
Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2
« Reply #26 on: November 01, 2008, 02:06:32 AM »

Quote from: David Watson
Hi

i have just bought a G10 (import from the USA).  The enclosed software is DPP 3.5 which installs okay on my Macpro (10.5) but DPP will not open the raw files - it just hangs.  Do I have to wait until Apple add the G10 to their raw processing engine or am I doing something wrong.

Any help on this subject would be very much appreciated.

No, Apple support for the G10 would only apply to Apple software, such as iPhoto, Aperture.

DPP hanging indicates you have some other type of problem.
Logged

Eric Myrvaagnes

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11097
    • http://myrvaagnes.com
Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2
« Reply #27 on: November 02, 2008, 09:06:06 PM »

Quote from: marcmccalmont
Fill out the DxO suggestion form http://www.dxo.com/intl/photo/support/modu...pb_availability
Marc
Thanks, Marc. I just filled out a request.
Logged
-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my photo website. New images each season. Also visit my new website: http://ericneedsakidney.org

Czornyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1684
    • zarzadzaniebarwa.pl
Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2
« Reply #28 on: November 25, 2008, 03:19:14 AM »

ACR 5.2 and DNG with G10 support - at last! Farewell, DPP I won't miss you at all.

http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/tha...amp;fileID=3935
http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/tha...amp;fileID=3935



Slobodan Blagojevic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9367
  • When everybody thinks the same... nobody thinks.
    • My website
Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2
« Reply #29 on: November 30, 2008, 01:02:54 PM »

Quote from: Czornyj
ACR 5.2 and DNG with G10 support - at last! Farewell, DPP I won't miss you at all...
Unfortunately, not that simple... ACR is significantly noisier than DPP (at least for G10 files). So far my workflow is to de-noise in DPP and then export as TIFF to continue adjustments in Lightroom.

P.S. I opened a new thread in this forum, with examples of the above statement, [a href=\'index.php?act=findpost&pid=29894\']here[/a].
« Last Edit: December 01, 2008, 11:19:36 AM by slobodan56 »
Logged

Czornyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1684
    • zarzadzaniebarwa.pl
Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2
« Reply #30 on: November 30, 2008, 03:46:32 PM »

Quote from: slobodan56
Unfortunately, not that simple... ACR is significantly noisier than DPP (at least for G10 files). So far my workflow is to de-noise in DPP and then export as TIFF to continue adjustments in Lightroom.

Thats subjective. I use ACR's noise reduction, and it works well for me.

Dale_Cotton2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 109
    • http://daystarvisions.com
Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2
« Reply #31 on: November 30, 2008, 06:37:44 PM »

Because my interest in the G10 is heavily weighted toward low light shooting, I took a set of test shots at the local dealer's at ISOs from 100 to 1600. Using the DNG converter, I imported them into Lightroom, and was totally taken aback at how much noise I'm seeing, even at 200. Here's a link to the DNG file: IMG_0014.dng.

Based on Wayne Fox's careful conversions using DPP with 0 NR, it seems to me that either
  • DPP is applying a pretty significant amount of NR even when NR is supposedly off, or
  • DNG somehow amplifies noise, or
  • importing DNG into Lightroom somehow side-steps it's own level 0 NR.
Notice that this shot is if anything slightly over-exposed, so it's not is if under-exposure is responsible for excess noise.

I'd appreciate any input as to whether there's something amiss with my test shot, and if not, as to what's going on here. There seems to be two camps on this issue: one that even 200 ISO is seriously noisy and one that 400 is quite usable. Based on what I'm seeing, I'd have to side with the first camp.

I can post other test shot DNGs, or original CR2s, if wanted.
Logged

sandymc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 317
Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2
« Reply #32 on: December 01, 2008, 07:46:24 AM »

Quote from: Dale_Cotton2
importing DNG into Lightroom somehow side-steps it's own level 0 NR.

Can't say whether that's all you are seeing, but if LR doesn't recognize a camera (and at the moment, it won't recognize a G10), it is very conservative about its default settings. So its quite possible that NR is set quite low.

Sandy
Logged

madmanchan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2110
Canon G10 Raw, CS3, ACR4.6 and LR2
« Reply #33 on: December 01, 2008, 08:55:32 AM »

Yes, DPP applies a noticeable amount of baseline noise reduction even with sliders set to zero.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up