Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: ACR 5.0, no 50D support?  (Read 8108 times)

Wayne Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3524
    • waynefox.com
ACR 5.0, no 50D support?
« on: October 18, 2008, 02:18:44 AM »

CS4 won't doesn't support my 50d RAW files ... even though LR 2.1RC and CS3 with ACR 4.5 has at least preliminary support.

I guess my question, for those that might have some inside info, is this right?  Just want to make sure it isn't user error of some kind.


Logged

Nick Rains

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 705
    • http://www.nickrains.com
ACR 5.0, no 50D support?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2008, 04:21:13 AM »

Quote from: Wayne Fox
CS4 won't doesn't support my 50d RAW files ... even though LR 2.1RC and CS3 with ACR 4.5 has at least preliminary support.

I guess my question, for those that might have some inside info, is this right?  Just want to make sure it isn't user error of some kind.
I believe there is a 5.1 version due any day now - that will align 5.x with 4.6.
Logged
Nick Rains
Australian Photographer
Leica Akademie Instructor
www.nickrains.com

madmanchan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2110
ACR 5.0, no 50D support?
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2008, 06:02:02 PM »

Correct. Due to the significant lead time required to package CS4, our work on CS4 (Camera Raw 5.0) was finished long before the 50D was even announced. Next week there will be a 5.1 update that will include 50D support, same as CR 4.6.

Sorry for the (temporary) inconvenience. We had originally hoped to get 5.1 out the door on the same day as the actual CS4 ship date, but we did not manage to squeeze that in.
Logged

Wayne Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3524
    • waynefox.com
ACR 5.0, no 50D support?
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2008, 01:45:24 PM »

Quote from: madmanchan
Correct. Due to the significant lead time required to package CS4, our work on CS4 (Camera Raw 5.0) was finished long before the 50D was even announced. Next week there will be a 5.1 update that will include 50D support, same as CR 4.6.

Sorry for the (temporary) inconvenience. We had originally hoped to get 5.1 out the door on the same day as the actual CS4 ship date, but we did not manage to squeeze that in.

Thanks for the update.
Logged

Mike Louw

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 137
    • http://www.dreaminglight.com
ACR 5.0, no 50D support?
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2008, 03:24:09 PM »

Somewhat off-topic, but while we've got you cornered on the subject of CS4, madmanchan: it seems as though the Photoshop preference option to open Bridge automatically when launching Photoshop has disappeared (replaced by the option to open Bridge at login?). Is this true, or am I missing something?

Schewe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
    • http:www.schewephoto.com
ACR 5.0, no 50D support?
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2008, 03:38:07 PM »

Quote from: mikelouw
when launching Photoshop has disappeared (replaced by the option to open Bridge at login?). Is this true, or am I missing something?


True...so?
Logged

Mike Louw

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 137
    • http://www.dreaminglight.com
ACR 5.0, no 50D support?
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2008, 04:31:01 PM »

Quote from: Schewe
True...so?

Just wondered if the option had moved somewhere else. I liked it.

Schewe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
    • http:www.schewephoto.com
ACR 5.0, no 50D support?
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2008, 04:56:43 PM »

Quote from: mikelouw
Just wondered if the option had moved somewhere else. I liked it.


Pretty easy to automatically open Bridge when Photoshop is opened, anyway...

Record an action, insert menu item "Browse in Bridge" from the File menu
Then in the Scripts Manager, enable, select action>your recorded Bridge Open action and add.

Then every time you launch Photoshop, Photoshop tells Bridge to also open. No need for a preference to do it.
Logged

Mike Louw

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 137
    • http://www.dreaminglight.com
ACR 5.0, no 50D support?
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2008, 06:03:52 PM »

Thanks Jeff. Neat trick!

I don't use any other CS4 programs with any frequency, and use Bridge solely as a browser for Photoshop, so I only need Bridge to be open when I use PS, not at login.

Ben Rubinstein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1735
ACR 5.0, no 50D support?
« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2008, 12:51:08 PM »

I rarely open PS first anyway, I have the Bridge icon on my Quick Launch Taskbar and work from there to PS. It's as available to me as the button in PS as it's always visible.

madmanchan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2110
ACR 5.0, no 50D support?
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2008, 08:52:10 AM »

Wayne, 5.1 will be released later today. Please stay tuned.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up