Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Saving RAW Files  (Read 3067 times)

Mark F

Saving RAW Files
« on: October 08, 2008, 10:11:08 pm »

In his Lightroom 2 book, Martin Evening writes that "The DNG file format...has been widely adopted as a preferred format for archiving raw camera files".   Saving images as both CR2 and DNG files obviously takes much more disk space, but I'm new to post processing and do not know enough to understand if I would be making a mistake by not also saving the CR2 files.  Would I be giving something up in future processing or anything else by saving only as DNG?

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Mark

DarkPenguin

Saving RAW Files
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2008, 10:36:27 pm »

You lose the ability to use the camera makers software.  If this matters to you then you get to keep the CR2's around.  If it doesn't then convert away.

The View

Saving RAW Files
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2008, 10:37:27 pm »

Do not delete the CR2 files.

You will have no longer access to Canon's own RAW processor DPP, and also no access to Capture One Pro, another first class RAW processor.
The View of deserts, forests, mountains. Not the TV show that I have never watched.

martinreed22

Saving RAW Files
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2008, 02:57:36 am »

I follow the "disk is cheap and getting bigger" school. I use XP. When I import I use the option to make a backup at the same time. I do this directly to an internal drive reserved for backups, this gets me the CR2 squirreled away should I ever need it. I convert to DNG on import.

The LR library and catalog get backed up every night to the backups drive. After significant changes I sync up with an external drive on another system (a Mac Mini so that I don't get hit on both systems by some weird Windows problem). Well, actually a pair of drives . I have a USB drive I sync up to sporadically as well.