Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: File Structure with LR2 - Time to put everything i  (Read 4080 times)

hdomke

• www.henrydomke.com
File Structure with LR2 - Time to put everything i
« on: September 25, 2008, 02:57:05 pm »

I used to keep track of my digital files with folder management. Lots of carefully thought out folders and subfolders. It was a lot of work.

Now with LR2 can I abandon that as I switch to metadata management?  Could I dump everything into one big folder? It would sure be a lot less work!

Thoughts, comments and suggestions on how others are dealing with this issue would help.

If it makes any difference, I am a professional photographer and have 62,000 files in my LR2 database.
Henry

Henry Domke Fine Art

Mike Guilbault

• Mike Guilbault Photography
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2008, 06:59:18 am »

I thought the same way, but quickly found that it was much more difficult to backup and archive my images if they were all in one folder.  By breaking it down into folders and subfolders, you can create manageable 'chunks' of images.  Well thought out folder structure is, and always will be, paramount for any system.

Take a look a "The DAM Book" for more insight and information on structuring your images and folders.
Mike Guilbault

Goodlistener

• http://www.pbase.com/goodlistener
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2008, 11:29:10 pm »

There's a 1,000 ways to do it but here is what I personally set up after speaking to a lot of people and attending one of Scott Kelby's Lightroom Tours.

All photos are under one directory, called:

Lightroom.  No individual picture files are in that folder though, its only a top level folder for additional folders which are numbered for each year, like 2007 and 2008
So you have:

Lightroom