Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Lightroom 2.1  (Read 18303 times)

Ian Lyons

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
Lightroom 2.1
« on: September 19, 2008, 05:38:50 PM »

A release candidate for Lightroom 2.1 is now available from Adobe Labs http://labs.adobe.com/wiki/index.php/Lightroom_2.1

Josh-H

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2023
    • Worldwide Photography Expeditions
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2008, 05:48:45 PM »

Quote
A release candidate for Lightroom 2.1 is now available from Adobe Labs http://labs.adobe.com/wiki/index.php/Lightroom_2.1
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=222747\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Glad to see a few annoying bugs fixed in this release candidate.

rdonson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2059
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2008, 06:41:30 PM »

Thanks, Ian.  That's good news.  I see a lot of the bugs I've experienced are being addressed.  Now I'll also be waiting on the performance improvements for the localized corrections (2.2?).  

I'm going to wait for 2.1 to be fully baked and formally released as an update before installing though.
Logged
Regards,
Ron

dchew

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 737
    • http://www.davechewphotography.com
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2008, 08:06:08 PM »

Although I posted this on the Adobe forum, I'll repeat it here:

So far I've tried the following things that I've had problems with before.  Each one seems fixed:

1. Hanging on auto white balance.
2. "Three dot indicator." Much faster.
3. "Two-step undo problem." I always wondered if this was pilot error! Does not seem to happen any more.
4. Although I have no way to quantify this, it immediately seems much faster...

Dave Chew
Logged

rdonson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2059
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2008, 08:54:55 PM »

That's great news, Dave. Any new or nagging problems?
Logged
Regards,
Ron

kaelaria

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2223
    • http://www.bgpictures.com
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2008, 12:38:20 AM »

Awesome!  I'm trying it right now - many of the issues fixed are things I ran into...no show stoppers but this should make a great improvement!

DarkPenguin

  • Guest
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2008, 11:36:47 AM »

Does it hose my database in any way?  In other words if I run this will I lose anything once the real 2.1 comes out?
Logged

madmanchan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2110
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2008, 05:39:39 PM »

No, it doesn't.

But backup your database anyways.
Logged

vandevanterSH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 625
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2008, 06:58:41 PM »

I am seeing a big improvement with 2.1....no more spinning pizza wheels..

Steve
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8136
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2008, 07:31:35 PM »

A lot less spinning wheels and switching between modules is much faster. I also find the local brush much more responsive (on a MacBook Pro). No crash so far.
Logged
Francois

picnic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 574
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2008, 07:42:14 PM »

Quote
A lot less spinning wheels and switching between modules is much faster. I also find the local brush much more responsive (on a MacBook Pro). No crash so far.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=222943\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Has anyone tried the 'open in PSCS3' without using the workaround of using open with photoshop.exe as alternative editor.  This was bug for many with PCs.

Diane
Logged

DaHen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2008, 08:39:00 PM »

Quote
I'm going to wait for 2.1 to be fully baked and formally released as an update before installing though.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=222761\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Same here. I'll wait as well.

 
Logged
My System: Windows8.1. Intel Core i7-3770 CPU 3.40GHz 8GB Ram
C Drive: WD SATA 1TB. and an external WD USB 640GB.
LR 4.2 & 6.0 & CS6
Epson R220 Printer

kaelaria

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2223
    • http://www.bgpictures.com
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #12 on: September 20, 2008, 09:00:17 PM »

Just got through two shoots worth of work on it - much faster, no issues whatsoever.

The edit in CS3 was never an issue for me, still works fine.

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8136
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #13 on: September 20, 2008, 09:59:41 PM »

Quote
Has anyone tried the 'open in PSCS3' without using the workaround of using open with photoshop.exe as alternative editor.  This was bug for many with PCs.

Diane
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=222945\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Diane,
I can't say, I'm using a Mac and I never experienced the issue.
Logged
Francois

Mort54

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 590
    • http://
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #14 on: September 20, 2008, 10:25:17 PM »

As others have reported, much better performance. No more spinning beach balls on my Mac, even when processing 39 MP files from my Phase One P45+. I can even have other apps open now with no obvious slowdown. Thank you Adobe.
Logged
I Reject Your Reality And Substitute My Own

weberpoint

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
    • http://mrainwater.com
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2008, 10:57:47 PM »

Quote
Has anyone tried the 'open in PSCS3' without using the workaround of using open with photoshop.exe as alternative editor.  This was bug for many with PCs.

Diane
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=222945\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I had that problem as well, so I just tested it.  I am happy to report that it appears to be fixed!
Logged

dhlewis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
    • http://dhlewisphotography.com
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #16 on: September 21, 2008, 08:27:13 AM »

Quote
A release candidate for Lightroom 2.1 is now available from Adobe Labs http://labs.adobe.com/wiki/index.php/Lightroom_2.1
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=222747\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Windows XP, I am seeing little benefit if any so far. If anything mouse movements appear slower to respond, apparent in more intensive actions like red eye adjustment.
Logged

azicit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
    • http://www.azicit.com
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #17 on: September 21, 2008, 07:58:43 PM »

 All the issues I was having appear to be fixed plus the whole thing is running much faster and smoother.  YEA team!
« Last Edit: September 21, 2008, 07:59:06 PM by azicit »
Logged

picnic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 574
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #18 on: September 21, 2008, 08:14:13 PM »

Quote
I had that problem as well, so I just tested it.  I am happy to report that it appears to be fixed!
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=222963\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks---that wasn't a huge issue for me since I did use the workaround, but that was one thing that was talked about at length on the Adobe LR forum.  I haven't gotten around to dling 2.1 but will install it in the next day or so.  I love 2.0 even with the bugs, so this will be terrific.

Diane
Logged

David Sutton

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1033
    • David Sutton Photography
Lightroom 2.1
« Reply #19 on: September 21, 2008, 10:14:27 PM »

Quote
Windows XP, I am seeing little benefit if any so far. If anything mouse movements appear slower to respond, apparent in more intensive actions like red eye adjustment.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=223012\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Just loaded LR into a new desktop and had this problem which was fixed by updating the video driver. David
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up