Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: OK, so how do I progress from here?  (Read 10586 times)

PSA DC-9-30

OK, so how do I progress from here?
« on: September 14, 2008, 12:24:40 am »

I consider myself an intermediate-level photographer, and have for nearly 20 years since I started serious photography with an Olympus OM-2s at the age of 16. I shot Kodachrome almost exclusively, and never set foot in a darkroom--until recently when I started shooting 3x4" orthochromatic B&W sheet film for some whole-cell modeling work I am doing using transmission electron microscopy. Inasmuch as I earn my living (as a postdoc in biology) by researching cellular structure using electron microscopes (SEM, TEM) and publishing images of this work, I guess I could rightly claim to be a professional photographer (micrographer, if you want to split hairs). In addition to being published in scientific journals, my work has appeared in textbooks, newspapers, television shows, etc., etc. My boss and I are both very interested in the artistic aspect of my work, and I will submit a portfolio to Lenswork in the coming months. I have used Photoshop CS2 ever since it came out, and Corel PhotoPaint 8 before that. I have a basic knowledge of image editing--levels (still not comfortable with curves), saturation, shadow/highlight, unsharp mask, etc--but not a whole lot more than that. I shoot raw with the E-510, and have been developing the images using the free Olympus software, although I plan on buying Lightroom 2.0 soon!

Anyway, I think you get an idea of where I'm at in terms of knowledge level.