Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is it worth the upgrade from 1.4 to 2.0  (Read 4311 times)

Stuarte

• http://
Is it worth the upgrade from 1.4 to 2.0
« on: August 28, 2008, 09:54:59 am »

I'm a sporadically keen amateur using LR since the early betas.  I've been very pleased with it, even though I'm sure I still don't use its features as skillfully as I should.  

I tend to go for the latest upgrade/update of software I use a lot, but with LR 2.0 I'm not sure.  On one hand, LR 1.4 works fine for me.  On the other hand, the upgrade isn't too pricey for me, even in the UK here, and I don't want to be stuck with a version (1.4) that's neglected by Adobe.

I know I could download a trial copy and see for myself, but I don't have time to do it justice.  

So the question is - does LR 2.0 have sufficient extra about it to make it worth the additional money and the additional time to learn it?

Tklimek

« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2008, 10:36:36 am »

Stuarte....

I put myself in exactly the same category with you, and if this is not that much money for you I would heartily recommend it.

Seriously, I am so impressed with LR 2.0.  I know this sounds ridiculous but I actually feel that my images are coming out BETTER now with the additional tools.  This is a very exciting time to be a digitial photographer!  I have never really used *specific* programs for my photos before; now I feel that LR 2.0 is just about 1 stop shopping.

The other three programs that I use are:

PTLens - used to correct distortion on certain lens *if* I wish to do so

Photoshop Elements - Since LR 2 came out, I basically only use this to create Photo Emails to send out to family and friends.