Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Nikon Heads-up  (Read 4875 times)

schrodingerscat

Nikon Heads-up
« on: August 24, 2008, 04:36:06 pm »

Greetings all -

I've been an independent repair tech for about twenty five years, as well as a stint at Hasselblad's repair facility in Santa Monica, and have witnessed some disturbing trends that pretty much started with the advent of the digital age.

The manufacturer's have steadily eroded their support for the independents by restricting access to manuals and software, and sky high parts prices. I recently paid $100 for a 3" LCD panel. While some are worse than others, Canon has been the most reasonable so far.

Nikon has just upped the ante in the UK, with the rest of the EU soon to follow as required by law. As of now, Nikon will not sell any internal parts for any current product to a non authorized shop. That means they will only be able to change out outer covers and such. If they get away with this, the others are sure to follow.