Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Questions about print longevity  (Read 1707 times)

Shutterbug2006

Questions about print longevity
« on: August 21, 2008, 10:33:10 pm »

I wonder if anyone has experience using HP's Colorfast Adhesive Vinyl on an HP Z3100? I was told I can only expect 3 months before fading (indoors) with this product, but the person who told me this had no direct experience with the product.

I am interested in increasing the print longevity. HP seems to highly recommend using a vinyl pressure-sensitive over laminate for best results, but I have no experience using this type of product so I used a spray instead.

I made a print 36"w x 20", and then applied several coats of Krylon Matte Finish spray (product #KR1311) to it. It did not seem to affect image viewing, and it didn't affect my ability to mount it on a glass door.

It was the first time I've applied any adhesive-backed vinyl to a surface and I did a pretty good job mounting it dry. Subsequently a little research seemed to indicate that I might have had an easier time of it if I had sprayed the glass surface with water first, to help in positioning the vinyl to begin with. I made a couple of mistakes when I applied the vinyl, but found that I was able to pull the vinyl off (with some struggle) and reposition it to eliminate most of the air bubbles. I was hesitant to rub the vinyl with anything other than my fingers (through a cloth) to push the bubbles aside - and found I did not mar the surface whatsoever doing this.

My questions are; will the Krylon Matte Finish spray work? and would it have been easier to apply the vinyl to the glass surface if I had sprayed the glass liberally with water first?

Any tips would be greatly appreciated. I'm sure loving my new 44" Z3100GP ps printer. Prints on satin and matte paper are astounding, and the adhesive-backed vinyl prints looked pretty decent too.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2008, 10:36:02 pm by Shutterbug2006 »

Colorwave

• Colorwave Imaging