Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CameraProfilesBeta1  (Read 4668 times)

vandevanterSH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 625
CameraProfilesBeta1
« on: August 06, 2008, 07:19:48 PM »

CameraProfilesBeta1 won't load into my LR2..any thoughts on where I am screwing up?  I have been adding disk space in my Mac Pro and have moved app. files and data around;  CS3 is also a bit confused also.

Steve
Logged

madmanchan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2110
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2008, 09:02:20 PM »

Are you using the final release of LR 2 ?

Did the installer run successfully?

Did you quit & restart LR 2 ?

Are you saying that you do not see "Adobe Standard beta 1" in the profile popup?
Logged

vandevanterSH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 625
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2008, 10:31:57 PM »

Quote
Are you using the final release of LR 2 ?

Did the installer run successfully?

Did you quit & restart LR 2 ?

Are you saying that you do not see "Adobe Standard beta 1" in the profile popup?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=213558\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes

The "restart button" seems to have solved the problem.  Thanks for the reply Eric..Adobe scored a real coup getting you on board.

Steve
Logged

vandevanterSH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 625
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2008, 11:56:48 PM »

Are Nikon and Canon profiles the only ones available?  

Steve
Logged

vandevanterSH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 625
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2008, 12:15:49 AM »

Quote
Are Nikon and Canon profiles the only ones available? 

Steve
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

To answer my own question, the only CM profiles available are for Nikon and Canon.  What has me confused is this statement from the LL profile tutorial.."    

With the launch of these two programs Adobe is now making available profiles for virtually ever digital camera ever made."

[a href=\"http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/accessories/dng-profiles.shtml]http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/...-profiles.shtml[/url]

When I have DNGs from the CFV back, the only profile option that is shown is "Embedded."

Steve
Logged

michael

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5084
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2008, 07:59:48 AM »

Adobe's "Standard" profiles are available for almost every system. Their "Color Matching" profiles are, at the moment, available for just current model Canons and Nikons.

Michael
Logged

madmanchan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2110
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #6 on: August 07, 2008, 08:25:26 AM »

I'm a little slow this morning ... what is CFV?
Logged

vandevanterSH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 625
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2008, 09:47:21 AM »

Quote
I'm a little slow this morning ... what is CFV?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=213626\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Hasselblad's "cheap" digital back for the "V" series.

Steve
Logged

vandevanterSH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 625
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #8 on: August 07, 2008, 09:53:07 AM »

Quote
Adobe's "Standard" profiles are available for almost every system. Their "Color Matching" profiles are, at the moment, available for just current model Canons and Nikons.

Michael
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=213624\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Where do I find the "standard" profiles?  I am a little slow, when I was growing up, radios and Tvs had valves.

Steve
Logged

Kuryan Thomas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2008, 09:50:28 PM »

Quote
Where do I find the "standard" profiles?  I am a little slow, when I was growing up, radios and Tvs had valves.

Steve
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
[a href=\"http://labs.adobe.com/wiki/index.php/DNG_Profiles]http://labs.adobe.com/wiki/index.php/DNG_Profiles[/url]
Logged

rdonson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1959
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2008, 09:17:41 AM »

Quote
I am a little slow, when I was growing up, radios and Tvs had valves.

Steve
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=213639\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Wow!  I haven't heard vacuum tubes referred to as valves in a while.
Logged
Regards,
Ron

vandevanterSH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 625
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2008, 10:57:08 AM »

Quote
Wow!  I haven't heard vacuum tubes referred to as valves in a while.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=213886\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Just checking to see if anyone was awake.

Steve
Logged

Eric Myrvaagnes

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10968
    • http://myrvaagnes.com
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #12 on: August 08, 2008, 12:02:05 PM »

Quote
Just checking to see if anyone was awake.

Steve
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=213913\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Just busy checking through my collection of old valves.
Logged
-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my photo website. New images each season. Also visit my new website: http://ericneedsakidney.org

vandevanterSH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 625
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #13 on: August 08, 2008, 06:07:41 PM »

Quote
Just busy checking through my collection of old valves.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=213925\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Ah!! Nostalgia.  I will have to find my Mac. preamp and amp with valves.  A dark room, a glass of wine and the glow of four KT88s.

Steve
Logged

hubell

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 763
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #14 on: August 10, 2008, 09:55:28 AM »

Quote
Adobe's "Standard" profiles are available for almost every system. Their "Color Matching" profiles are, at the moment, available for just current model Canons and Nikons.

Michael
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=213624\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Michael:
Any idea why the raw files from Hasselblad  digital backs are not supported in LR or ACR? Strangely, Apple provides native support for the Hasselblad raw files in both Aperture and Leopard, but not for Phase files.
Thanks.
Logged

michael

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5084
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #15 on: August 10, 2008, 10:16:36 AM »

Not sure if I have a cogent reply to this. I guess it's a matter of both demand and developers time.

Several years ago I asked Thomas Knoll to add support for the P25 back as a personal favour when it first came out. He did, and Adobe has supported Phase backs ever since. I know that Phase One also now makes sure that Adobe has sample files and backs so that they can they can provide support for new backs as they are released.

I simply don't know if Hasselblad, Leaf and Sinar do similarly, or even if they wish to. It's interesting to note though that Phase One, who are in fact completive with Adobe in publishing a commercial raw processing program, also seem to provide the most support to Adobe of any of the MF back makers.

Michael
Logged

Schewe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5980
    • http:www.schewephoto.com
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #16 on: August 10, 2008, 01:35:33 PM »

Quote
I simply don't know if Hasselblad, Leaf and Sinar do similarly, or even if they wish to.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=214236\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Leaf does...in fact I'm pretty sure Leaf was the first medium format back company that did send Thomas "stuff" required to decode early Leaf raws (and I'm pretty darn sure it predates Phase support by a year or two).

Hasselblad on the other hand was actually outputting DNG files that COULD be read into Camera Raw-until Christian (the CEO) decided to do a firmware update to the back that disabled the DNG support (yes, that's right, first the backs COULD write DNG, then they couldn't–because of a firmware update). That coincided with the time period that Hasselblad decided to close their system and force the pairing of backs & cameras. There was some noise about the fact that Hasselblad claimed that DNG was not robust enough to handle the increased metadata load of the new lens and back data, but I'm pretty sure it was the incompetence of their engineering (that and the fact they wanted an excuse to close their system).

As for Sinar, I have no direct knowledge one way or the other.
Logged

vandevanterSH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 625
CameraProfilesBeta1
« Reply #17 on: August 10, 2008, 03:28:23 PM »

"but I'm pretty sure it was the incompetence of their engineering"

That makes more sense than helping to close the system.  Hasselblad emphasizes how easy it is to export DNG files that carry all files and meta-data and how much that improves work flow.

It would seem more cost effective for Hblad to just go with DNG and forget the expense of software development and updates.  The "software" is included in the price of the back and updates and new software products are "free".  Doesn't sound like a profit center.

Steve
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up