Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: The endless dynamic range sensor of the future  (Read 3018 times)

Der Oak

The endless dynamic range sensor of the future
« on: July 17, 2008, 10:57:26 am »

Hello Forum,

I would like to share with you an idea that came to my mind about a future digital sensor with basically unlimited dynamic range (slight exaggeration here). I have no technical background whatsoever, so I don't know if what I am proposing is at all technically feasible. But it just feels as if it should be possible to develop such a system.

So, what am I talking about?! Basically I was thinking that bracketing exposures in order to expose different parts of a scene correctly in individual files does one thing: Making a composite where (just making up numbers here) the photosites that captured the sky were turned on for 1/125, whereas the rest of the photosites were switched on for 1/30 of a second. By this differential exposure, the sky is eposed correctly in one image, and the foreground is exposed correctly in the other one. Both are combined to have proper exposure across the whole scene.

I know, I know, this is trivial and everybody knows about it. But here comes the idea. Why can't we just tell the sensor to do exactly this differential exposure at the time of capture?

The setup goes like this: In a future camera we have iPhone-like touchscreens that basically cover most of the back of the camera, so that we have a nice and detailed preview of the scene (live-view enabled of course). And as we see the preview of the scene on the screen we take our touchpen and draw a line over the preview of the image. For example we mark exactly the edge between the bright sky and the dark foreground. Then we tell the in-camera software that everything above the drawn line shall be exposed at 1/125, whereas everything below the line must be exposed for 1/30.