Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Shooting Tethered: One Hard Drive or Two?  (Read 13219 times)

Juanito

• John Raymond Mireles
Shooting Tethered: One Hard Drive or Two?
« on: July 13, 2008, 12:45:30 pm »

I'm new to shooting MFDB tethered to my laptop, but loving it. I'm a little concerned though about writing everything to one portable hard drive. I'd feel better about it if my Aptus 22 would write to the CF card in addition to hard drive, but that doesn't seem to be possible.  The risk of losing an entire shoot due to hard drive failure is too real and too scary. How do folks deal with this?

I figure I've got the following options:

- Just not worry about it and stick with one drive until I get back to the studio.

- Possibly setup the two USB drives in some sort of RAID 1 configuration. (Don't know if that's possible.)

- Have a script or program to immediately backup one drive to the other as the photos come in. Is there something like that for Mac? Would that affect performance?

- Just back up to another drive at the end of the shoot while still on location.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

John

Graham Mitchell

« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2008, 12:59:33 pm »

- Just back up to another drive at the end of the shoot while still on location.

I back up onto a DVD before packing up. A portable drive would be nearly as safe and faster.

flashfredrikson

« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2008, 01:05:59 pm »

Hi John,

OK, hardrives crash, but just don't worry too much. I always backup right after the shoot (while still on location or in the studio) or if it's multiple motives after every motive to a second hardrive.
But you can of course set up two portable hds to a raid lvl 1 simply using the softraid solution of mac os. That's actually a nice idea, but even then I would still backup everything immediately to a second drive.

cheers,
martin
« Last Edit: July 13, 2008, 01:06:57 pm by flashfredrikson »

snickgrr

• http://
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2008, 01:10:29 pm »