Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Prime or zoom?  (Read 25443 times)

griff19690

Prime or zoom?
« on: July 05, 2008, 06:11:28 am »

Hi.  I am new to photography and interested mainly in landscape and macro.  My question is which lens should I buy.  I am on a budget but could afford a Tokina 19-35 or a 28mm/30mm/35mm prime. Which would be best?

DarkPenguin

Prime or zoom?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2008, 10:49:10 am »

Not that tamron.

DarkPenguin

Prime or zoom?
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2008, 02:56:54 pm »

I should ask the question.  Do you have favorite focal lengths?  If so you could buy a prime around that length.

Geoff Wittig

Prime or zoom?
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2008, 09:33:29 pm »

Hi.  I am new to photography and interested mainly in landscape and macro.  My question is which lens should I buy.  I am on a budget but could afford a Tokina 19-35 or a 28mm/30mm/35mm prime. Which would be best?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=205644\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Depends on what you like to do and what you're shooting. If you're shooting 35 mm film, Tokina's older 19-35 mm zoom is pretty good optically, especially stopped down to f:8 to f:16 or so, and you can't beat the price. If you're shooting a reduced format APS-C digital SLR, you're better off getting a wider zoom like Tokina's 12-24 mm, if you can swing it the price. You'll almost always be stopping down a wide-angle lens for depth of field shooting landscapes, so wide maximum aperture doesn't matter so much.

Of course, if you're shooting street photography or indoor candids, you're better off with a wide aperture fixed focal length prime, like Sigma's 28 f:1.8.

rgs

• Richard Smith Photography
Prime or zoom?
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2008, 07:59:53 pm »

You'll get more lens for your money with prime lenses and the discipline of working with a single focal length will serve you well in the future.