Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Becoming a MF Digital photographer  (Read 5552 times)

Yoram from Berlin

• Yoram Roth Photography
Becoming a MF Digital photographer
« on: June 30, 2008, 03:58:33 am »

Good morning from Berlin.

I have been an avidly-enthusiastic non-pro photographer for 20 years, and have been shooting digitally exclusively since the release of Canon's D60 about six years ago.

I have decided to move to MF Photography for a number of reasons, none of which are reasonable but all of which sound good when I say them in my head late at night.

I am a long way off from making any purchases, and will be spending the summer taking courses from a number of photographers I know who work exclusively in digital Medium Format.

I have read exhaustively. Especially the articles on LL have (once again) proven to be a good way of learning about gear that I'm evaluating.

In light of the fact that the digital back has the highest initial cost, it is imperative that it provide me with the flexibility to move to a different body throughout its life. One thing that is not clear is which mount is the most flexible. I understand that there are different mounts and different systems, but there are a number of cameras that don't use proprietary mounts. I want to be able to work with MF cameras, as well as View cameras. I gather that Hasselblad is a closed system. But what back would I want to use if I want to shoot with a Sinar, and a Linhof at another time. Or what kind of mounts can I fit on the back of an Arca Swiss view camera?

I assume my question itself shows how much I have yet to learn. I am not only asking this question, but hope that it will lead me to further questions that help me go through this process.

Thanks for your comments and feedback,

Yaron

jonstewart

« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2008, 04:13:56 am »

Hi Yaron,