Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: the spinning ball of death  (Read 12793 times)

yoni

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
    • http://www.lighttrace.com
the spinning ball of death
« on: June 29, 2008, 07:32:41 PM »

I don't get it. I gave up on 1.5 because of the spinning ball of death. I have now downloaded the new version. Its no better. Who the hell can make use of it? I am running on 2.66GHz dual core w 4G ram w the 7300GT graphic card. My test library has about 4k 1dsII raw images. It started out nicely and smoothly but now every adjustment every zoom requires 10-60s.  Installed latest Prokit, turned off preview generation. Anyone knows what gives? As it is, its unusable so it must be the case that not everyone experiencing it.
Logged

peteh

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 200
    • http://
the spinning ball of death
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2008, 09:22:47 PM »

Quote
I don't get it. I gave up on 1.5 because of the spinning ball of death. I have now downloaded the new version. Its no better. Who the hell can make use of it? I am running on 2.66GHz dual core w 4G ram w the 7300GT graphic card. My test library has about 4k 1dsII raw images. It started out nicely and smoothly but now every adjustment every zoom requires 10-60s.  Installed latest Prokit, turned off preview generation. Anyone knows what gives? As it is, its unusable so it must be the case that not everyone experiencing it.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=204395\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
I have the same computer , might not be the same monitor, I have NEC 26090 WUXi monitor and have no problems.EXCEPT I have some RAM dying trying to figure THAT out now.I run bootcamp and windows XP pro also.Other than than the RAM thing all works well.I'm NOT running PS3 on MAC just Lightroom.
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8136
the spinning ball of death
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2008, 07:15:18 AM »

Quote
I don't get it. I gave up on 1.5 because of the spinning ball of death. I have now downloaded the new version. Its no better. Who the hell can make use of it? I am running on 2.66GHz dual core w 4G ram w the 7300GT graphic card. My test library has about 4k 1dsII raw images. It started out nicely and smoothly but now every adjustment every zoom requires 10-60s.  Installed latest Prokit, turned off preview generation. Anyone knows what gives? As it is, its unusable so it must be the case that not everyone experiencing it.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=204395\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
You could try to sample Aperture when it displays the spinning ball of death. It might give you an idea of what's happening and/or you could send a bug report to Apple.
Logged
Francois

yoni

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
    • http://www.lighttrace.com
the spinning ball of death
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2008, 07:28:03 AM »

Quote
You could try to sample Aperture when it displays the spinning ball of death. It might give you an idea of what's happening and/or you could send a bug report to Apple.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=204452\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
You mean monitor activity? It says Aperture not responding.
Logged

yoni

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
    • http://www.lighttrace.com
the spinning ball of death
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2008, 07:29:25 AM »

got 30" apple display. Sent bug reports on 1.5 regarding it. Clearly they didn't fix it.
Logged

DaveLon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 124
the spinning ball of death
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2008, 10:52:35 AM »

Quote
I don't get it. I gave up on 1.5 because of the spinning ball of death. I have now downloaded the new version. Its no better. Who the hell can make use of it? I am running on 2.66GHz dual core w 4G ram w the 7300GT graphic card. My test library has about 4k 1dsII raw images. It started out nicely and smoothly but now every adjustment every zoom requires 10-60s.  Installed latest Prokit, turned off preview generation. Anyone knows what gives? As it is, its unusable so it must be the case that not everyone experiencing it.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=204395\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Can you give some more details. System 10.4, 10.5?, Other programs running? I run 2.01 on a G5 dual 2 Ghz, 3 gig RAM and while only doing D20 size images, have noticed no particular slowness. Runs on my MacBook Pro 2.16 Ghz too without problems.

Dave
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8136
the spinning ball of death
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2008, 11:40:29 AM »

Quote
You mean monitor activity? It says Aperture not responding.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=204454\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Select the Aperture process in Activity Monitor and click the Sample Process in the toolbar (or menu View>Sample Process). This should generate a report of Aperture, even if it's not responding.
Logged
Francois

yoni

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
    • http://www.lighttrace.com
the spinning ball of death
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2008, 09:19:40 PM »

Thanks, but cant really decipher whats it doing from the activity monitor sample process. I give up. On two machined 10.5 and 10.4, and UI is jerky with ball of death appearing regularly. Not sure why, but unacceptable performance. thanks everyone for your help.
Logged

yoni

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
    • http://www.lighttrace.com
the spinning ball of death
« Reply #8 on: July 03, 2008, 10:23:25 PM »

Well I found a helpful guide: http://www.bagelturf.com/files/b84395d029b...2ede1e-1061.php
Solution to my problem: delete the preference file. Simple enough.
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8136
the spinning ball of death
« Reply #9 on: July 04, 2008, 06:27:44 AM »

Quote
Well I found a helpful guide: http://www.bagelturf.com/files/b84395d029b...2ede1e-1061.php
Solution to my problem: delete the preference file. Simple enough.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=205403\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Glad to see that you managed to get rid of the SBoD in an easy way  

Yes, sample dumps are not easy to decipher but they could have told ou where Aperture was spending time.

Anyway, have a good day!
Logged
Francois
Pages: [1]   Go Up