Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Phocus 1.0 now available  (Read 8625 times)

vandevanterSH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 625
Phocus 1.0 now available
« on: May 28, 2008, 10:59:11 AM »

Phocus 1.0 is now available for download along with FlexColor 4.8.6.

Steve
Logged

jjj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4738
    • http://www.futtfuttfuttphotography.com
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2008, 11:08:09 AM »

From where? It's nowhere to be seen on Hasselbald.com. For download that is.
The last news is regarding the Beta.  
« Last Edit: May 28, 2008, 11:10:36 AM by jjj »
Logged
Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography

vandevanterSH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 625
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2008, 11:12:35 AM »

Quote
From where? It's nowhere to be seen on Hasselbald.com. For download that is.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=198534\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I just downloaded it from US site.  You have to be registered and logged in to download software.

Steve
Logged

jjj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4738
    • http://www.futtfuttfuttphotography.com
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2008, 11:46:11 AM »

That's a bummer when you rent kit and do not own it.
As I still need to proces the images.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2008, 11:46:37 AM by jjj »
Logged
Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography

Dustbak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2407
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2008, 11:59:48 AM »

There is always someone friendly enough to let you download it from somewhere but I do agree. Why not put it somewhere where you can get it more easily.

PM me if you need it and can't get it.
Logged

jjj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4738
    • http://www.futtfuttfuttphotography.com
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2008, 12:38:52 PM »

Thanks for the offer. I may take you up on that as I have some pics I need to do some work on and I keep putting off as I hate Flexcolour and Phocus seems a lot better. Even if it is a bit baffling in places.
Logged
Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography

Jason F

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2008, 12:53:58 PM »

Also, the release notes say you have to have OS X 10.5 or greater to run Phocus. Just FYI.
Logged

jjj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4738
    • http://www.futtfuttfuttphotography.com
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2008, 03:57:04 PM »

Thanks to Dustback as I now have Phocus and am also now registered for next time.
Logged
Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography

jjj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4738
    • http://www.futtfuttfuttphotography.com
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2008, 05:04:17 PM »

And annoyingly I have the same bug that made me give up on the Beta version.
namely that when I click on a thumbnail to view/edit nothing happens. To be more specific it works fine initially and then it gets stuck on one image and that's it.  
Logged
Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography

Nick-T

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 462
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2008, 05:57:52 PM »

Quote
And annoyingly I have the same bug that made me give up on the Beta version.
namely that when I click on a thumbnail to view/edit nothing happens. To be more specific it works fine initially and then it gets stuck on one image and that's it. 
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=198606\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Try a double-click
Nick-T

jjj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4738
    • http://www.futtfuttfuttphotography.com
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2008, 06:05:38 PM »

It seems that you cannot copy Hasselbald files to computer and then expect to view them, as they still have to be imported by the programme converting them in the process to another file format, doubling up no. of files and tripling space consumed.   I have files on my Hard drives that were simply copied to disc in named and dated folders to be worked on later.
'Importing' them then dumps the files in your scratchpad folder, where you then have to copy them back to a accurately named folder.
My guess is that Phocus was designed for tethered shooting and other less studio oriented workflows were simply discarded.  
Logged
Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography

j.miller

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 160
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #11 on: May 28, 2008, 06:42:04 PM »

With the release of Phocus® v1.0, along with the current H3D/II or H2/F CF Back firmware, Mirror Lock-up is now available as a click-button option within the Capture Tool pane, along with several other features like AF operation, manual focus control, live preview, etc.

Also, Phocus® handles 3FR (as shot to a CF card) the same as FlexColor, it requires that you import them into the application, which will appropriately convert them to .fff files (native format of Phocus® and FlexColor) and locate the files to your current destination. As long as your select your intended destination prior to import the 3FR files, the newly created .fff files will be created in that specified folder. Also, you have the option of automatically deleting the 3FR files after import, therefore keeping you RAW file count to a minimum.

Regards,

Jordan Miller


Quote
Phocus 1.0 is now available for download along with FlexColor 4.8.6.

Steve
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=198533\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
« Last Edit: September 08, 2010, 10:56:51 AM by j.miller »
Logged

jecxz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 377
    • http://www.jecxz.com
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #12 on: May 28, 2008, 07:13:27 PM »

Slightly off topic question: are you guys backing up the FFF files or the 3FR files? I've been backing up the 3FRs only. Mistake?

It was my understanding that the 3FR is the compressed version of the FFF, is this correct?

josayeruk

  • Guest
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #13 on: May 28, 2008, 08:11:56 PM »

Quote
'Importing' them then dumps the files in your scratchpad folder, where you then have to copy them back to a accurately named folder.
My guess is that Phocus was designed for tethered shooting and other less studio oriented workflows were simply discarded. 
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=198617\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Why don't you setup a new Capture Destination in the first place before importing?  It doesn't have to be the 'Scratchpad' you know.

I disagree that this is a software only for tethered shooting.

Ummm   RTFM?    

Jo S.x
Logged

josayeruk

  • Guest
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #14 on: May 28, 2008, 08:13:31 PM »

Quote
Slightly off topic question: are you guys backing up the FFF files or the 3FR files? I've been backing up the 3FRs only. Mistake?

It was my understanding that the 3FR is the compressed version of the FFF, is this correct?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=198627\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Only 3F's for me.  I guess you could argue that the 3FR's could be imported again.

Anyhoot in Phocus it looks like the 3F's are staying compressed!  

Jo S.x
Logged

j.miller

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 160
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #15 on: May 28, 2008, 09:24:40 PM »

Derek,
     Both .3fr and .fff files are technically RAW files. The .3fr file is slightly smaller, as it designed strictly for in-camera capture, where you are shooting to a CF card. It is more of "transport" format. The size of a .3fr file is approx 55MB, depending on the subject matter. The .fff file is standard working, RAW file for Phocus® and FlexColor, and allows for the complete functionality within these applications. The .fff file is approx 80MB. Technically the same data could extrapolated from either file, however a .3fr will have to (re)imported to make any adjustments, and to export (save) various files.

The .fff files will be your ideal "archiving" RAW format, as it allows for you to track every change to file, starting from original capture, without any side-car or separate XML files. Everything is contained within the .fff file. Not to mention the simple, multi-format, simultaneous export capabilities with Phocus®, which makes re-purposing RAW files for different applications quick, and fairly effortless.

Regards,

Jordan Miller

Quote
Slightly off topic question: are you guys backing up the FFF files or the 3FR files? I've been backing up the 3FRs only. Mistake?

It was my understanding that the 3FR is the compressed version of the FFF, is this correct?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=198627\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
« Last Edit: September 08, 2010, 10:56:37 AM by j.miller »
Logged

jecxz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 377
    • http://www.jecxz.com
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #16 on: May 28, 2008, 10:23:17 PM »

Jo and Jordan - thank you very much! Be well.

jjj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4738
    • http://www.futtfuttfuttphotography.com
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #17 on: May 28, 2008, 11:00:15 PM »

Quote
Why don't you setup a new Capture Destination in the first place before importing?  It doesn't have to be the 'Scratchpad' you know.

I disagree that this is a software only for tethered shooting.

Ummm   RTFM?   
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=198630\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
I did read manual.  You still have to reset the capture destination each time or move files to correctly named folder and after using LR/Aperture it seems rather
 lame.
I didn't say it was only for tethered shooting, but that the workflow was  designed for tethered and is clunky if used otherwise.
Though compared to Flexcolour... it's wonderful, then again a poke in the eye is less irritating than using Flexcolour.
Logged
Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography

jjj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4738
    • http://www.futtfuttfuttphotography.com
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #18 on: May 28, 2008, 11:04:14 PM »

Quote
Try a double-click
Nick-T
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=198615\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
You think I didn't try that? Many times!
It was the fact that you have to import them, even if they are already on your hard drive that was confusing, especially as the files I could view and those I couldn't both produced thumbnails in Phocus.
Logged
Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography

rovanpera

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
Phocus 1.0 now available
« Reply #19 on: May 29, 2008, 01:09:17 AM »

the beta was sloooow... how is this?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up