Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Metadata of this photo has been changed -  (Read 5629 times)

The View

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1097
Metadata of this photo has been changed -
« on: May 11, 2008, 06:43:48 PM »

After re-editing TIFFs in PS I get a warning exclamation point on the top right of the image.

Clicking on it, I get the message:


"the metadata of this photo has been changes by LR and another application"

Then I get the option


1. Overwrite data (overwrite with what?)

2. Import settings from disc (which settings are those?)



What does this mean?
Logged
Deserts, Cities, Woods, Faces - View of the World.

CatOne

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 452
    • http://blloyd.smugmug.com
Metadata of this photo has been changed -
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2008, 09:18:02 PM »

Quote
After re-editing TIFFs in PS I get a warning exclamation point on the top right of the image.

Clicking on it, I get the message:
"the metadata of this photo has been changes by LR and another application"

Then I get the option
1. Overwrite data (overwrite with what?)

2. Import settings from disc (which settings are those?)
What does this mean?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=195104\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Any chance you're also looking at the images in ACR?

The View

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1097
Metadata of this photo has been changed -
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2008, 01:46:01 AM »

Quote
Any chance you're also looking at the images in ACR?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=195130\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I never use the ACR part of PS.

I have all the images in LR, and then export to PS, and they always stay in LR.

But when I re-edit such an image in PS, and it "comes back" to LR, then I get this warning sign.

Might have to do with this travel to PS and back.
Logged
Deserts, Cities, Woods, Faces - View of the World.

Richowens

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 889
Metadata of this photo has been changed -
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2008, 01:54:00 AM »

When you are done with your edits in PS use CTRL-S to save. Then your edits will show up on the file in LR without the warning.

HTH
Rich

The View

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1097
Metadata of this photo has been changed -
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2008, 03:41:27 PM »

Quote
When you are done with your edits in PS use CTRL-S to save. Then your edits will show up on the file in LR without the warning.

HTH
Rich
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=195162\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


I do Command S (Mac), but the warnings still pop up.

I just don't know how to synchronize. Which data are on the disk? What shall I overwrite with what?

Sorry, I'm just confused about this matter.
Logged
Deserts, Cities, Woods, Faces - View of the World.

kikashi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5115
Metadata of this photo has been changed -
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2008, 03:44:34 PM »

Quote
I never use the ACR part of PS.

I have all the images in LR, and then export to PS, and they always stay in LR.

But when I re-edit such an image in PS, and it "comes back" to LR, then I get this warning sign.

Might have to do with this travel to PS and back.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=195161\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
When you export from LR to PS, are you using the option, "edit a copy with lightroom adjustments"? If you just edit a copy, you might get the message you describe (that's speculation: I've not tried it).

Jeremy
Logged

The View

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1097
Metadata of this photo has been changed -
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2008, 08:00:28 PM »

Quote
When you export from LR to PS, are you using the option, "edit a copy with lightroom adjustments"? If you just edit a copy, you might get the message you describe (that's speculation: I've not tried it).

Jeremy
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=195265\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

When I use the "edit a copy with LR adjustments" I never get that message.

I only get it, when I go back to re-edit one of these "copies with LR adjustments" (which, by then, have PS adjustments, too).

At the moment I leave the warnings, and don't do anything, until I find out what is going on.
Logged
Deserts, Cities, Woods, Faces - View of the World.

The View

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1097
Metadata of this photo has been changed -
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2008, 06:20:22 PM »

Found the solution by simply trying it out.

If you choose the option "import settings from disk" you go back to an earlier stage, and destroy the current photo.

If you choose "overwrite settings" you overwrite older data with your latest edit adjustments.

So, to preserver the current image, "overwrite settings" is correct.

It's a bit a misnomer. "update" would be more precise, because update means to replace older settings with new ones.
Logged
Deserts, Cities, Woods, Faces - View of the World.

Wayne Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3454
    • waynefox.com
Metadata of this photo has been changed -
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2008, 08:22:30 PM »

Quote
I never use the ACR part of PS.

I have all the images in LR, and then export to PS, and they always stay in LR.

But when I re-edit such an image in PS, and it "comes back" to LR, then I get this warning sign.


[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=195161\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I didn't think Photoshop worked with metadata.  Isn't the only way to modify "metadata" in PS is with ACR?  If you don't use ACR, I'm not sure how you are modifying metadata.

The only time I have ever seen this is when I open a RAW image through Bridge or directly into Photoshop  that has been changed in LR.  This goes through ACR, and if I make any changes in ACR before opening in PS, those are saved in the .xmp sidecar fie.  If you view the image in LR later, the sidecar file and internal data no longer match, so LR needs to know which version you want to use.

Other than that I cannot replicate the behavior you are describing.

The View

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1097
Metadata of this photo has been changed -
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2008, 01:19:50 AM »

Quote
I didn't think Photoshop worked with metadata.  Isn't the only way to modify "metadata" in PS is with ACR?  If you don't use ACR, I'm not sure how you are modifying metadata.

The only time I have ever seen this is when I open a RAW image through Bridge or directly into Photoshop  that has been changed in LR.  This goes through ACR, and if I make any changes in ACR before opening in PS, those are saved in the .xmp sidecar fie.  If you view the image in LR later, the sidecar file and internal data no longer match, so LR needs to know which version you want to use.

Other than that I cannot replicate the behavior you are describing.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=195594\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I do all my RAW work in LR, but I switched off the XMP sidecar checkbox for speed. So it can't come from these.
Logged
Deserts, Cities, Woods, Faces - View of the World.
Pages: [1]   Go Up