Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Blues on HP Photo Matte Paper  (Read 1789 times)

ChrisS

Blues on HP Photo Matte Paper
« on: April 19, 2008, 04:16:02 pm »

I'm relatively new to digital printing, and have only tried 2 paper types on my new HP B9180.

When I print a file on HP Photo Matte paper, I get quite different saturation of blue from when I print the same file on HP Advanced Photo Glossy paper. Both use profiles that came with the printer, so should work properly  - or, at least, the same (to my understanding). The Glossy paper correlates well with image on the monitor, the Matte is far too blue. (It's an image of gavanised doors.) I've tried both sides of the Matte paper, which for reasons that I can't imagine HP do nothing to distinguish from each other.

Am I doing something wrong - or is the Photo Matte paper at fault? (HP in the UK told me they didn't have supplies of the paper any more when I tried to order via them, and thought they might be discontinuing it.)

Thanks

Chris

walter.sk

« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2008, 05:54:58 pm »

I'm relatively new to digital printing, and have only tried 2 paper types on my new HP B9180.

When I print a file on HP Photo Matte paper, I get quite different saturation of blue from when I print the same file on HP Advanced Photo Glossy paper. Both use profiles that came with the printer, so should work properly  - or, at least, the same (to my understanding). The Glossy paper correlates well with image on the monitor, the Matte is far too blue.
Chris
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=190659\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
First of all, the dynamic range and degree of saturation that you can produce on matte paper are less than what you can do with glossy paper.

Second, the profiles that come with the printer are probably not as accurate as custom profiles.