Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Wide DS or Horseman SWDII for MF DB system  (Read 4852 times)

michaelnotar

Wide DS or Horseman SWDII for MF DB system
« on: April 12, 2008, 01:53:35 am »

hello, im somewhat new to the MF DB world and i currently use a P25 on my mamiya 645 w/35/55/80/150 lenses + on a view camera  recently w/ a schneider 150/5.6 4x5 fillm lens.

im looking at a cambo wide ds or horseman swdII for my wide angle needs (55-35/28ish) ....

curious to which camera you would recommend.

i like rodenstock digital lenses, not the HR lenses, as they are the cheapest, but the WDS doesnt have many Rod lenses. curious to know about putting rodenstock lenses on it, how it works and what i need/expenses.

while the Rod HR lenses are awesome i hear, i probably dont get the full benefit of them with the P25, so the regular digital lenses are fine for me.

the Horseman uses all Rod lenses, all but one but its the extreme WA 24mm, and all the lens units are cheaper, a big plus. its a special order item/non returnable though at BH, so i hesitate to buy it and dont know much about its reputation being newer etc. it looks good though, probably  cant go wrong with either.

i know of several WDS units used that are really appealing, but they are complete with film lens and film back. the DB mounts for the WDS are really expensive almost 1k, the Horseman ones are ~$350.

i want to get into the system as cheap as possible, im not sure if its best to get a used film system and sell off the film parts or a completely digital system from day one, what ever is cheaper. i definitely dont need to shoot film with what ever i decide to do.

thanks for your help. look forward to hearing back from everyone.

jessegoff

« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2008, 09:32:49 pm »

I use a Cambo Wide with the Scheider 24mm XL and 335mm XL and am so fairly happy with the reults.  I attached a shot I used with my P45.  For all other focal lengths I use Hasselblad.