Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom versus CS3/Bridge  (Read 5742 times)

Patrick_Toomey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom versus CS3/Bridge
« on: April 11, 2008, 07:02:28 AM »

Howdy all,
I'm pretty new at this and own Photoshop CS3 but not Lightroom and am processing images on an iMac with 2 GB of RAM. This morning I upgraded my Bridge/CS3 with Adobe's latest Camera RAW release and am now on version 4.4.1. HAving never seen or used Lightroom can some of you clue me in a little on the present differences between what I now have for a Camera RAW version versus the one that is contained within Lightroom? Are they the same or not? In talking to a few photographer dogs out in the field they tell me that one can tell the difference because Lightroom's version has more and different sliders. Not having Lightroom makes it pretty hard for me to make that comparison. Any advice would be welcomed.

Patrick Toomey
Charlottesville, Virginia

PS:  I was not sure whether to post the question here or in the Digital Processing forum so I posted in both places.  Hope that is okay!
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom versus CS3/Bridge
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2008, 09:12:32 AM »

Current shipping versions of LR and ACR use nearly identical controls and the same processing pipeline. I say nearly identical, there are a few tiny differences (point curve in ACR, not in LR, ColorMatch RGB as an option in ACR, not in LR, numeric readouts etc).

LR 2.0 however is now a public beta and its got far more options and is not in parity with ACR.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

Patrick_Toomey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom versus CS3/Bridge
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2008, 09:24:51 AM »

Andrew,
    Thank you very much for the help.

Patrick

Quote
Current shipping versions of LR and ACR use nearly identical controls and the same processing pipeline. I say nearly identical, there are a few tiny differences (point curve in ACR, not in LR, ColorMatch RGB as an option in ACR, not in LR, numeric readouts etc).

LR 2.0 however is now a public beta and its got far more options and is not in parity with ACR.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=188700\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged

JeffKohn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1670
    • http://jeffk-photo.typepad.com
Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom versus CS3/Bridge
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2008, 03:21:07 PM »

Quote
Current shipping versions of LR and ACR use nearly identical controls and the same processing pipeline. I say nearly identical, there are a few tiny differences (point curve in ACR, not in LR, ColorMatch RGB as an option in ACR, not in LR, numeric readouts etc).

LR 2.0 however is now a public beta and its got far more options and is not in parity with ACR.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=188700\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
What does LR 2 beta have besides the localized dodge/burn tools that isn't in ACR 4.4?

Thanks,

Jeff

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8139
Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom versus CS3/Bridge
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2008, 05:59:57 AM »

Quote
What does LR 2 beta have besides the localized dodge/burn tools that isn't in ACR 4.4?

Thanks,

Jeff
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=188789\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Negative clarity and post-crop vignette control. Also, localized tools are not restricted to dodge/burn.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2008, 06:03:37 AM by francois »
Logged
Francois

Philmar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 367
    • http://www.fluidr.com/photos/phil_marion/sets
Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom versus CS3/Bridge
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2008, 11:53:32 AM »

Does LR allow one to further process the converted file in CS3 as a smart object? i.e. can one return to LR from CS3 to re-adjust some of the previously made adjustments?
Logged
An office drone pension administrator by day and a photo-enthusiast by night, week-end and on vacation who carries his camera when traveling the world:
Please have a chew on my photos:
http://www.fluidr.com/photos/phil_marion/sets

DavidB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 241
    • http://davidburren.com/
Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom versus CS3/Bridge
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2008, 08:10:17 AM »

Quote
Does LR allow one to further process the converted file in CS3 as a smart object? i.e. can one return to LR from CS3 to re-adjust some of the previously made adjustments?[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=189962\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Yes and no.
Even in LR1, as long as you've saved the metadata (XMP) info out, if you drag the RAW files from LR to PS CS3 it will open them up in ACR using the settings you've set up in LR.  If you do embed that as a Smart Object inside a PSD, those settings are copied with the RAW data to the Smart Object.
But you can't access that copy of the settings from LR (although you can access it from within PS via the ACR controls).

Potus5

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
    • http://
Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom versus CS3/Bridge
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2008, 09:40:19 AM »

I'm not certain I follow DavidB's response to that part of your question about going back into LR once you've done some CS3 adjustments. Certainly, amongst other sources, you'll see in Scott Kelby's book on "LR for Digital Photographers" his workflow example, using a landscape shot, of doing inital overall corrections of a RAW image in LR, jumping into PS to do some finishing specifc area adustments, then jumping back into LR for final actions and printing, with at each step in the flow both LR and PS fully recognizing and incorporating the adjustments from the other. C.F. Kelby's book, chapter 11, especially pages 378 where he moves back into LR from PS.

Michael Reichmann and Jeff Schewe video tutorial, in the Luminous Landscape store download area,  also show and guide you through this in and out of PS from LR step workflow.
Logged

DavidB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 241
    • http://davidburren.com/
Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom versus CS3/Bridge
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2008, 11:28:00 AM »

The usual workflow when people talk about passing images between LR and PS is to have LR generate PSD/TIFF files, PS then manipulate the files, and then have LR layer further changes on top of those files.
It all interoperates cleanly (as long as you enable Maximise Compatibility in PS when saving PSD files).

The issue of opening RAW files from LR as Smart Objects inside PS documents is slightly more complex, and is what Philmar was asking about.

Alter Nereus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom versus CS3/Bridge
« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2008, 11:51:39 AM »

In LR 2.0 beta, and presumeably also in the final release, is the option to take your image into CS3 as a Smart Object. Right click on the image in the Library > click Edit in Adobe Photoshop 3 > click on Open as Smart Object in Photoshop.
Logged

Jim Z

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom versus CS3/Bridge
« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2008, 01:33:03 PM »

Also dual monitor support!
« Last Edit: April 18, 2008, 01:38:40 PM by Jim Z »
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up