Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom vrsus CS3/Bridge  (Read 2942 times)

Patrick_Toomey

Camera RAW 4.4.1 Lightroom vrsus CS3/Bridge
« on: April 11, 2008, 07:00:10 am »

Howdy all,
        I'm pretty new at this and own Photoshop CS3 but not Lightroom and am processing images on an iMac with 2 GB of RAM.  This morning I upgraded my Bridge/CS3 with Adobe's latest Camera RAW release and am now on version 4.4.1.  HAving never seen or used Lightroom can  some of you clue me in a little on the present differences between what I now have for a Camera RAW version versus the one that is contained within Lightroom?  Are they the same or not?  In talking to a few photographer dogs out in the field they tell me that one can tell the difference because Lightroom's version has more and different sliders.  Not having Lightroom makes it pretty hard for me to make that comparison.  Any advice would be welcomed.

Patrick Toomey
Charlottesville, Virginia

01af

« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2008, 09:20:56 am »

... can  some of you clue me in a little on the present differences between what I now have for a Camera Raw version versus the one that is contained within Lightroom?  Are they the same or not?[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=188666\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
With regard to raw image processing, they are the same exactly. In fact they use the very same raw conversion engine internally. On the user interface's surface a few of the sliders are designed a bit differently but all the functionality is the same for both.

And then Lightroom has some additional functionality for viewing, archiving, and presenting images which Camera Raw hasn't. Camera Raw users have Adobe Bridge for viewing and third-party solutions for archiving and presenting (an image data base program for instance). Camera Raw is nothing but a raw converter; Lightroom is a raw converter and then some. The raw converter part, however, is the very same in both.

-- Olaf

Patrick_Toomey