Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 10.5 Time Machine ?  (Read 7515 times)

dseelig

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 523
10.5 Time Machine ?
« on: March 15, 2008, 02:33:32 PM »

I was using time machine to back up my G5 mac . I have switched to a mac pro now it won't back up to my external . Do I need to wipe my external from the g 5 backups to get it to back up again thanks David
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7953
10.5 Time Machine ?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2008, 02:44:51 PM »

Quote
I was using time machine to back up my G5 mac . I have switched to a mac pro now it won't back up to my external . Do I need to wipe my external from the g 5 backups to get it to back up again thanks David
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=181741\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
I had the same issue and finally erased my external hard disc... I don't know if you can make it work without erasing the HD but Id diddn't want to spend a day on that problem.
Logged
Francois

Roy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
    • http://
10.5 Time Machine ?
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2008, 06:59:05 PM »

Quote
I was using time machine to back up my G5 mac . I have switched to a mac pro now it won't back up to my external . Do I need to wipe my external from the g 5 backups to get it to back up again thanks David
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=181741\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Time machine requires a disk with a GUID partition scheme on an Intel Mac and a disk with an Apple Partition Map on a Power PC based Mac.

You need to use Disk Utility to change the partition scheme. Not sure if you can do that without wiping all the data.
Logged
Roy

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7953
10.5 Time Machine ?
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2008, 06:15:47 AM »

Quote
Time machine requires a disk with a GUID partition scheme on an Intel Mac and a disk with an Apple Partition Map on a Power PC based Mac.

You need to use Disk Utility to change the partition scheme. Not sure if you can do that without wiping all the data.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=181792\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Right!
I missed the fact that dseelig switched from a PPC to an Intel-powered Mac.
Logged
Francois

dseelig

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 523
10.5 Time Machine ?
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2008, 12:37:56 AM »

Hi guys
Thanks for the clue I had a feelign it was abot how the drive was set up in partitiion . David
Logged

BlasR

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 760
    • http://BMRWorldPhotos.com
10.5 Time Machine ?
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2008, 04:09:05 PM »

You can do it, without wiping all/any the data.

better if you have another hd. then you do not need to use your main one.

BlasR

dseelig

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 523
10.5 Time Machine ?
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2008, 06:30:54 PM »

How ???
Quote
You can do it, without wiping all/any the data.

better if you have another hd. then you do not need to use your main one.

BlasR
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=182465\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged

BlasR

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 760
    • http://BMRWorldPhotos.com
10.5 Time Machine ?
« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2008, 02:31:47 PM »

go to your applications, utilities, disk utilities,

restore, were you like to do it.external or internal hard drive.
you can partition it, without loosing any data too

I just did the same.

Good luck

BlasR
Pages: [1]   Go Up