Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Deconvolution, Smart Sharpen,... for web output sh  (Read 9460 times)

lbenac

• http://www.LucBenacPhoto.com
Deconvolution, Smart Sharpen,... for web output sh
« on: February 21, 2008, 01:54:07 pm »

Hello,

As indicated I am a beginner shooting RAW with Pentax gear. I use a very simplified work-flow based on ACR and CS3 and do not pretend to fully understand all the posts in this forum. So I am definitely not part of the "old boys" club and as such it might be the wrong forum to post.
I do very limited printing (not good enough yet) so output most of my photos for monitor or web (Zenfolio, Pentax Gallery).
I usually do capture sharpening in ACR and then create a Smart Object for all localized adjustments (masks, layers, filters, PT lens, Noiseware,..) and final sharpening in CS3. I store the DNG as my archives, keep PSD as my working copies and finally output a JPG with frame for viewing on my monitor or post on the web.
Recently thanks to this forum, I have tried PKS. I have found that either because of my limited knowledge or because I am not outputting for print, I preferred the results I got using Smart Sharpen on various Smart Layers.
Being curious by nature I have read some of the posts on deconvolution software and gave it a try. I could not try Focus Magic as I am using a Vista 64 bit machine but tried Focus Fixer plugin. On very limited test I really liked the result compared to Smart Sharpen. Now the draw-back is that it looks like the plugin will not work on Smart Objects. I really like to work with Smart Object and make changes of some of the adjustments at posteriori.
Would anybody know of a similar plugin that would work on Smart Objects (and do not cost too much)?
Should I reconsider my workflow using Smart Objects and start using normal PSD files and normal layers using adjustements tools in CS3 as opposed to ACR (outside of the initial conversion, toning,....)?