Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie needs advice and suggestions  (Read 2845 times)

davehaze

Newbie needs advice and suggestions
« on: February 19, 2008, 06:18:31 am »

Hi, I'm new to digital processing and don't know what is the best image editing software to use...although PS CS3 seems to be a favorite there are a lot of alternatives it seems. I have a Canon 40d and I shoot in RAW and have been using DPP to touch up my pictures. From reading this forum I'm a little confused about all the different processes that are used in the workflow by different individuals......i.e. a variety of software suites to accomplish the same goal? Is it worth acquiring PS CS3 or can DPP essentially accomplish the same....probably not from what I gather and if so what are the differences? I also read that even with PS CS3 some prefer to print the final image from another software program? Is there a reason for that and would I need another program besides PS to print from?

PS CS3 is expensive and I have a small budget to work with right now so what would be the cheapest way to acquire PS? Get Photo Shop Elements and then purchase the upgrade version? Sorry for all the questions, it's rather difficult for me to understand all the options out there, thanks!

genemcc

• http://pixveritas.com
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2008, 06:59:10 am »

A good way to get started in the Photoshop family is to get Photoshop Elements 6.  It's only $99 and you can probably get a lower price if you shop around.  Many of Photoshop's tools are there.  If you find that you like it and want/need to move up then you can decide about Photoshop CS3.

Also, take a look at Lightroom.  If you start to get serious about your photography it's an excellent workflow and organizational tool. For 80% or more of your shots Lightroom is all you will need.
Gene
Li

jbrembat

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2008, 07:12:39 am »

IMO DPP is the best raw converter.
Good free alternatives are dcraw and ufraw.