Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: 2.0?  (Read 9942 times)

stevecoleccs

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 125
    • http://www.stevecole.com
2.0?
« on: February 18, 2008, 04:26:52 PM »

Where's LR 2.0? When?

~ cole

KeithR

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 639
2.0?
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2008, 05:36:20 PM »

Quote
Where's LR 2.0? When?

~ cole
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=175757\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
It's been less than a year since 1.0 shipped, and since then we've had 3 updates. What's your rush?
Logged
The destination is our goal but itís the journey that educates us.

wolfnowl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5821
    • M&M's Musings
2.0?
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2008, 11:40:00 PM »

It's been less than a year since 1.0 shipped, and since then we've had 3 FREE updates!
Logged
If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~

My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings

seamus finn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1199
2.0?
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2008, 04:58:16 AM »

The last thing we want is Adobe shoving LR2 out the door before it's ready just because Aperture 2 has appeared. So far it's been steady, ground-breaking progress with LR- nobody wants it cocked up at this crucial stage because of a hasty and badly judged marketing strategy. I have a feeling LR2 will be worth waiting for but I, for one, don't want it until its ship-shape
Patience!
« Last Edit: February 19, 2008, 04:59:56 AM by seamus finn »
Logged

geesbert

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 626
    • http://www.randlkofer.com
2.0?
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2008, 09:10:03 AM »

i only want 2.0 if it does tethering. then i will trow out C1!
Logged
-------------------------
WWW.RANDLKOFER.COM

seamus finn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1199
2.0?
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2008, 09:23:43 AM »

Fair comment
Logged

sniper

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 669
2.0?
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2008, 09:28:29 AM »

Scott kelby has a wish list for LR 2.0 on his blog, he claims Adobe have seen it and are taking it onboard.  Most of the stuff he wants is pretty sensible, and fairly easy to impliment, whether Adobe will do it is another thing, although a lot of the things are needed to bring it properly up to speed for working pros.  Wayne
Logged

seamus finn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1199
2.0?
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2008, 10:10:54 AM »

I feel that if Lightroom doesn't make a significant step forward with Version 2, the LR community will find it hard to swallow. Granted, it's not that long on the market in terms of, say, Photoshop, and the speed of development has been rapid, but its very success has built up a mood of anticipation and expectancy among a very demanding core of users.
Logged

jjj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4738
    • http://www.futtfuttfuttphotography.com
2.0?
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2008, 10:22:36 AM »

Quote
Scott kelby has a wish list for LR 2.0 on his blog, he claims Adobe have seen it and are taking it onboard.  Most of the stuff he wants is pretty sensible, and fairly easy to impliment, whether Adobe will do it is another thing, although a lot of the things are needed to bring it properly up to speed for working pros.  Wayne
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
On that note, this from Scott's site, is worth mentioning
[a href=\"http://www.scottkelby.com/blog/2008/archives/941]I've Seen LR 2![/url]
Logged
Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography

DarkPenguin

  • Guest
2.0?
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2008, 10:58:42 AM »

Quote
On that note, this from Scott's site, is worth mentioning
I've Seen LR 2!
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=175928\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Was concerned about that list until I saw his additions ...

# Dual Monitor Support (I canít believe I forgot this one, as it was one of the very things I went searching for when the first Beta version was released. Good catch!).
# Softproofing. (I know, I canít believe I forgot that one either).
Logged

pss

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 960
    • http://www.schefz.com
2.0?
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2008, 12:11:53 PM »

adobe says it would take about 5 years and 5 more versions of LR to include the entire list....sorry...can't wait that long...
i switched to aperture for the moment...
because NOW it gives me:
tethered shooting
dual monitor support
softproofing
printing works!
on par conversions with LR (aperture 1.5 was way off)
lightbox
loupe
moire slider (that works well and simple)
plug-ins

all these features are here today and work!

what i am missing:
presets/looks (there is a workaround, but come on...)
history
snapshots (there is a workaround for this as well, but again...)


why i am switching: the features i need most are in aperture TODAY...no guessing when they might come....conversions are great...which is really the most important thing....it seems like aperture needs some fixes at this point, LR a whole list of features, by the end of the year aperture might have what i am asking for, LR definitely won't (according to them i might have to wait 5 years)...apple has proven to provide industry leading pro-apps (video, music) and with this release showed that they are serious about aperture as well....if anyone can take on adobe on that level, it is apple


also: the integration with apple os and all ilife/iapps is just amazing and this is only the beginning....adobe will never have this....

both apps are great, do yourself a favor and check them both out.....

DarkPenguin

  • Guest
2.0?
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2008, 12:31:14 PM »

Buy me a Mac and I'll consider it.
Logged

sniper

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 669
2.0?
« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2008, 12:36:21 PM »

I'm a bit confused about the dual monitor support (it doesn't take a lot) LR works fine on my dual monitor setup, what am I missing?  Wayne
Logged

DarkPenguin

  • Guest
2.0?
« Reply #13 on: February 19, 2008, 12:41:22 PM »

Does it run on more than one monitor at once?
Logged

Martin Phillips

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
2.0?
« Reply #14 on: February 19, 2008, 01:14:28 PM »

I would love to see a larger maximum file size supported, many of my larger images don't show up and I like to use LR as my browser and tweaker after converting to RAW in Flexcolor.

It would be useful to have support for CMYK files too!
Logged

sniper

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 669
2.0?
« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2008, 01:59:21 PM »

Yes it runs across both or either, I have tried it with the develop preset panel on one monitor and the rest on the other, works fine, I can just drag it to where I want.   Wayne
Logged

John.Murray

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 886
    • Images by Murray
2.0?
« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2008, 02:25:12 PM »

What I take as Dual Display support is an application whose ToolBars and Panels can be moved independenantly to a 2nd display; below shows VS panels that are normally "docked" inside the main window, moved to my 2nd Display:



Lightroom is limited to being stretched across displays like any other application

I'd also like to see:

-Soft Proofing
-External Plug-In support
-External Database Support - ie: the ability to "check out" a collection (as a catalog?) from a central database
-Finally, not limited to just LR, but across Adobe's line - having the scrollbar width respect system preferences, I find LR and PS scrollbars too narrow.

-John
« Last Edit: February 19, 2008, 02:31:15 PM by Joh.Murray »
Logged

CatOne

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 453
    • http://blloyd.smugmug.com
2.0?
« Reply #17 on: February 20, 2008, 12:16:57 AM »

Quote
Where's LR 2.0? When?

~ cole
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=175757\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


In development!  When it's ready!

larsrc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 173
    • http://
2.0?
« Reply #18 on: February 21, 2008, 12:32:47 PM »

Quote
adobe says it would take about 5 years and 5 more versions of LR to include the entire list....sorry...can't wait that long...
i switched to aperture for the moment...
because NOW it gives me:
tethered shooting
dual monitor support
softproofing
printing works!
on par conversions with LR (aperture 1.5 was way off)
lightbox
loupe
moire slider (that works well and simple)
plug-ins

all these features are here today and work!

what i am missing:
presets/looks (there is a workaround, but come on...)
history
[...]
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=175962\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I am tempted to switch, but AFAICT Aperture doesn't have CA correction even in 2.0, which I need for one of my favorite lenses.  Thus I'm willing to give LR the benefit of the doubt for a little while longer.  However, it's obvious that with their main competitor having released a 2.0, they will have to, too, if only for marketing purposes.  

-Lars

sniper

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 669
2.0?
« Reply #19 on: February 21, 2008, 12:36:12 PM »

I suspect we'll get another update first, probably with a few new goodies to keep us happy.  Wayne
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up