Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down

Author Topic: NEC Calibration Problem  (Read 18906 times)

Thomas Krüger

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 450
    • http://thomaskrueger.eu
NEC Calibration Problem
« Reply #40 on: February 29, 2008, 09:31:43 AM »

That's right, the software in Europe is different. And NEC USA doesn't sell Spectraview to customers in Europe. So if you reside in Europe you need to search the Internet underground...
 

Quote
Are you in Europe?  NEC Europe provides completely different software from NEC US.  I think they're intended to, and presumably do, accomplish the same things, but as I understand it they're completely different applications, written separately from the ground up.  Why, I've never been able to imagine.

Nill
~~
www.toulme.net
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=178203\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged

meierruedi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 80
NEC Calibration Problem
« Reply #41 on: February 29, 2008, 11:15:11 AM »

Quote
That's right, the software in Europe is different. And NEC USA doesn't sell Spectraview to customers in Europe. So if you reside in Europe you need to search the Internet underground...
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=178211\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks! I shall do as soon as I've got some time!

Did anybody do any comparison between the two?

Is it possible to compare different profiles at all (wondering because it gets partly written into the AGP card and affects brightness and contrast settings as well)?
Logged

J mandell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
NEC Calibration Problem
« Reply #42 on: March 01, 2008, 03:08:57 AM »

Yes, I'd start D65 TRC2.2. Maybe 150cd/m2

Hmmm... I have another question: the only canned setting that gives the user D65 and a 2.2 gamma is Broadcast Video. Do I use that or do I use something else and change the parameters? I've done the Broadcast Video, but the curve it produces isn't flat by a wide margin. On the other hand, I have to say, I'm not sure what kind of curve I'm looking at.
Thanks.

(By the way, the 150 setting works fine, but out of curiosity, what does m2 mean?)
Logged

meierruedi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 80
NEC Calibration Problem
« Reply #43 on: March 01, 2008, 03:39:13 AM »

m2=square meteres...

According to NEC gamma 2.2 doesn't make sens with LCD monitors. They recommend the L* setting.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11891
    • http://digitaldog.net/
NEC Calibration Problem
« Reply #44 on: March 01, 2008, 09:34:31 AM »

Quote
m2=square meteres...

According to NEC gamma 2.2 doesn't make sens with LCD monitors. They recommend the L* setting.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=178398\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Maybe someone in Europe with that version, but not with the US software, pick gamma 2.2.

J. you can modify a setting and save off a custom target to use so yes, start with Broadcast Video and modify to your needs or just make a new custom target and set as you wish and save.

Cd/m2 is the unit of measured luminance (Candela's per meter squared).
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/

pixel wrangler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
    • http://www.homepage.mac.com/fastpics
NEC Calibration Problem
« Reply #45 on: March 02, 2008, 01:53:19 AM »

Hi MNP500:

I've arrived at this party pretty late, and don't know if you've got your issues sorted out.

If not, you may want to run the Eye-One Diagnostic on your puck. GMB replaced mine under warranty a few months ago when my profiles got wonky, and the puck failed the diagnostic tests.  

You should have the software on the dvd that came with the puck, or I think you can download it from Gretag Macbeth's website.

Hope this helps.

ron
« Last Edit: March 02, 2008, 01:54:24 AM by pixel wrangler »
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Up