Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Cannot Automatically Save TIFF from CS3?  (Read 3322 times)

Andy M

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 333
    • http://
Cannot Automatically Save TIFF from CS3?
« on: February 07, 2008, 06:22:36 AM »

Just before I fly to India for a 3 week photographic trip I've hit problems; I'm finding that I can't save TIFF files from CS3 into my Lightroom library.

Once I've edited the 16 bit TIFF in CS3 (originally sent from a RAW file in Lightroom), I'm finding that I can't send it back to Lightroom. Photoshop displays the message:

'Could not complete your request because of a program error.'

Does anybody have any ideas on how to rectify this?
Logged

rfreschner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Cannot Automatically Save TIFF from CS3?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2008, 07:36:09 AM »

If you open the RAW in CS3 instead of LR and then save the file as TIFF, are you able to then import the TIFF into LR?  I'm not suggesting that as a workaround, just trying to take LR out of the initial equation to see what happens.

Rick
Logged

Andy M

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 333
    • http://
Cannot Automatically Save TIFF from CS3?
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2008, 10:56:49 AM »

Quote
If you open the RAW in CS3 instead of LR and then save the file as TIFF, are you able to then import the TIFF into LR?  I'm not suggesting that as a workaround, just trying to take LR out of the initial equation to see what happens.

Rick
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=172965\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Yes. No problems.

Even when I export a TIFF from Lightroom into CS3 and work on it, the file can be saved to the desktop, but not re-imported into LR.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Cannot Automatically Save TIFF from CS3?
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2008, 11:41:11 AM »

Quote
Yes. No problems.

Even when I export a TIFF from Lightroom into CS3 and work on it, the file can be saved to the desktop, but not re-imported into LR.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=173014\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

And this is an RGB document?
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

Andy M

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 333
    • http://
Cannot Automatically Save TIFF from CS3?
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2008, 11:48:19 AM »

Yes.

1Ds III RAW converted to a 16bit ProPhoto TIFF to process in CS3, then converted to 8bit ProPhoto TIFF ready to be saved back to Lightroom to be stacked with the original RAW.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2008, 11:50:19 AM by Andy M »
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Cannot Automatically Save TIFF from CS3?
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2008, 11:55:35 AM »

OK so its Photoshop, not LR giving you the error on save?

Check that you have Backwards compatibility checked in General Preferences for TIFF.

Can't hurt to rebuild the PS preferences either. Press and hold Alt+Control+Shift (Windows) or Option+Command+Shift (Mac OS) immediately after launching Photoshop.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

Andy M

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 333
    • http://
Cannot Automatically Save TIFF from CS3?
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2008, 12:13:54 PM »

Quote
OK so its Photoshop, not LR giving you the error on save?

Check that you have Backwards compatibility checked in General Preferences for TIFF.

Can't hurt to rebuild the PS preferences either. Press and hold Alt+Control+Shift (Windows) or Option+Command+Shift (Mac OS) immediately after launching Photoshop.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=173024\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks for your help Andrew

Still no luck, I'm afraid. How can I check for backwards compatibility?

Photoshop -> Preferences -> General... -> File Handling?

Also, on trying to rebuild the PS preferences will you receive any sort of confirmation that this has been completed?
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Cannot Automatically Save TIFF from CS3?
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2008, 12:19:48 PM »

Quote
Photoshop -> Preferences -> General... -> File Handling?

Also, on trying to rebuild the PS preferences will you receive any sort of confirmation that this has been completed?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=173034\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Yes general preferences and yes, you should get confirmation.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

Andy M

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 333
    • http://
Cannot Automatically Save TIFF from CS3?
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2008, 12:34:28 PM »

Apologies for being an utter clot, but I can't see the option?



Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Cannot Automatically Save TIFF from CS3?
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2008, 12:37:30 PM »

You have it set for Ask. Sorry, that's for PSD's (Tiffs will automatically write this into the doc IF you have layers).
« Last Edit: February 07, 2008, 12:37:55 PM by digitaldog »
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

Andy M

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 333
    • http://
Cannot Automatically Save TIFF from CS3?
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2008, 08:39:27 AM »

And for no apparent reason, all is well today.

I can only think that there was some sore of miscommunication between the software due to me altering the date of the RAW file (I'd accidentally set the wrong date in my camera and had to add a day to all files in Lightroom), but this was before I exported to TIFF?

Ah well, all's well that ends well
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up