Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Arca-Swiss 6x9cm F-Line Compact for architecture  (Read 7950 times)

shelby_lewis

Arca-Swiss 6x9cm F-Line Compact for architecture
« on: December 22, 2007, 11:30:59 am »

Hey All,

Haven't posted here in a few years, but was hoping to get a bit of advice.

I'm an architect who also shoots a lot of portraits (www.shelbylewis.com)... and was looking a few years back at a small 6x9 view camera as a means to begin transitioning towards shooting architecture digitally.

I've a few years of research as far as common practice in the arch photog field (canon and zeiss lenses, zork, mfdbacks, and so forth) but am still very intrigued with the idea of shooting with a view camera... at least from an "artistic process" pov.

I'll be keeping a minimal 35mm digital set-up for portraits and weddings and have a fairly limited starting budget so i was looking at an  Arca-Swiss 6x9cm F-Line C (Compact) Camera as a starting place to shoot some film with... then transitioning slowly into digital.

My only concern is with the focus tolerances with digital. Is it a must to use something in the monolith line... or a linhof m679... or cambo ultima series?

Just getting re-started in my investigations about digital view camera use... so would appreciate feedback.

Again... I'm an architect by profession... so I don't do this for a true living... so the convenience of a 35mm digital slr and client turnaround are not big considerations.

Thanks all... and Merry Christmas!

shelby_lewis

« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2007, 11:31:58 am »

forgot to mention... I'll be eventually moving to a one shot back, not a scan back.

Sheldon N

« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2007, 11:52:50 am »

Arca makes some great stuff. I shoot 4x5 film with mine.