Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: The biggest issue: Ink Waste  (Read 4497 times)

Abdulrahman Aljabri

• http://www.aljabri.com
The biggest issue: Ink Waste
« on: November 29, 2007, 08:45:00 am »

The Canon IPF5000 is available for an amazing deal, and I am interested in buying one. I started researching this printer and stumbled upon a big problem that seems to effect all large format pigment printers, that is, ink waste.

According to John's research, if left ideal, the IPF5000 wastes 2.5ml of ink per day. I am a casual photographer that will print no more than 100-200 large prints per year. Thus, using this printer, will waist most of my ink.

The question is, are 13" printers, including B9180 and 9500PRO, any better in this area? Do they waist any ink, or much less ink than the larger printers? They, too, are pigment printers, and use practically the same ink the larger and more professional printers use.

I am asking because while researching those two printers I never found any mention of this issue. On the other hand, while researching 17"+ printers, I found many references to ink waste.  

Please share your insight, thanks
MY SITE: AL

John Hollenberg

« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2007, 10:06:50 am »

The Canon IPF5000 is available for an amazing deal, and I am interested in buying one. I started researching this printer and stumbled upon a big problem that seems to effect all large format pigment printers, that is, ink waste.

According to John's research, if left ideal, the IPF5000 wastes 2.5ml of ink per day. I am a casual photographer that will print no more than 100-200 large prints per year. Thus, using this printer, will waist most of my ink.

[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=156930\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]