Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 9880 Rip?  (Read 10062 times)

Shawn

Epson 9880 Rip?
« on: November 21, 2007, 06:11:20 pm »

Hi all,

I'm very much new to this forum. I wish to purchase an Epson 9880 printer and need to know whether I should go for the ColorBurst Edition, with Rip, or not.

I have been looking at printers for a time now and recently attended the Graphics Canada trade show in Toronto to talk to my dealer, and Epson Rep. I was left unclear as to the best choice to make.

I'm an artist/gallery owner, with a background in print production, looking to reproduce my works on canvas & fine art papers, as well as doing some graphic work via Illustrator, Indesign etc.  Do I need a third party rip to print vector based art and quality text with this printer? I don't want to buy the printer only to find out I also need to purchase the Rip. If I buy both I'm looking at an extra $800-$1000, much more post purchase.

I'm currently working on a Windows based platform, XP Pro.

I was told by the Epson rep that if I convert .ai files to pdf I would not need the Rip, but I'm uncertain as to whether this would produce crisp graphics and text, or if I would be limited by size? (I may need to produce some large banners for the gallery.)

Much has been learned from your forum as a "guest" visitor and I look forward to new posts on the site.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Schewe

• http:www.schewephoto.com
Epson 9880 Rip?
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2007, 06:23:04 pm »

I'm an artist/gallery owner, with a background in print production, looking to reproduce my works on canvas & fine art papers, as well as doing some graphic work via Illustrator, Indesign etc.  Do I need a third party rip to print vector based art and quality text with this printer?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=154790\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]