Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: H3D-39 vs V system and P30  (Read 4757 times)

pflower

H3D-39 vs V system and P30
« on: November 08, 2007, 05:15:54 pm »

I have been using a V system Hasselblad for some 18 years very happily shooting film.  Mostly landscape and some slow, considered portraits.  So I don't need a speedy autofocus DSLR that can shoot 30 fps with 300 autofocus points.  I also have a D2x which is fine but I do like the Hasselblad.

As prices drop I have been considering a digital back.  In particular a refurbished P30 is now £6,500 which is very attractive.  I now notice that Hasselblad (more accurately the Pro Centre in London) are selling ex-rental H3D-39s for £9,000 or so.

At a pinch (alright more than a pinch) I could possibly go that far.  My initial thought was that I could buy an adapter for my existing CF lenses (50mm, 80 and 120 Macro) and live with the manual focusing.  Alternatively sell them (now or in the future) and put them towards a 55-110 zoom of which I hear good things.  Age is catching up with me and focusing manually becomes more difficult but OK with the WLF on the 503 but one day I know that auto-focus would be a plus.

Now I know the arguments that have been raging about the closed system that Hasselblad have nw introduced.  I am not sure that really affects me.  In 18 years I haven't particularly felt the need to change my V system.  Having played with a P30 I can see that I could be happy with that quality for the foreseeable future. But am I going to continue to be happy with my manual focus V system, slipping glasses off to focus, back on again to see what I am doing and so on?  There is a temptation to consider the H3D-39 - but I need to be sure that I can live with it for another 18 years - OK - 5 or 6 is good enough.