Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Requesting some final Z3100 purchase decision help  (Read 2354 times)

reburns

• Ralph E Burns Photography
Requesting some final Z3100 purchase decision help
« on: October 12, 2007, 06:18:51 pm »

Hello,

First, thank to all who contribute to this forum.  I appreciate any thought and guiding direction for choice on APS & papers.

I've all but ordered a Z3100.  A paperwork snafu is holding off getting the order done until Monday, so I have a couple more days to dither on a few final questions, primarily if to order APS (if even available).  I've spent time aplenty reading the prior posts, especially Justin's "plea for clarity" post.

First, I am an amatuer photographer and new to printing.  I'm an engineer in my other life, so okay with technical.  Still, most of the color terms are new im my learning curve.  Also, I have color-blindness, which means it takes me extra effort to get things right, even if I can easily see when colors are wrong.  So I will lean on tools more than others.

The HP paper that primarily grabs me is Pro Satin, but not many others.  I would prefer to print on a gentle Pearl - not sure who's.  I think I will end up with just a very few favorite papers.  I'm thinking ICC's are available for some other papers without buying the APS, and least a dealer said his rep has done work to create some (Magiclee??).

What I gather is that the built-in spectro does a good job of calibrating the printer, but the standard paper profiling software is limited, leaving room for the APS up-sale.

For me, APS would be a $630 delta, because I just bought a new i1 display, and it's still sealed so I can get the money back are re-direct towards APS.  So that's a modest incentive to decide from the onset.  However, I understand that some things are best digested in stages.  I'd:

- like to work on optimizing shadow detail