Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: IPF5100/6100 Surface durability -  (Read 1939 times)

ChrisImages

IPF5100/6100 Surface durability -
« on: September 25, 2007, 07:33:53 pm »

Hi,
As I know there are very few out in the wild at this point, Scott at On-Sight was nice enough to share some thoughts with me; but I wanted pose the question to a larger audiance.
As a Fine Art Photographer I'm looking forward to the capabilities of the 5100.
But, I'm going to be sharing it with a Portrait/Seniors Photographer.  He's currently using a Epson R800 w/Epson Photo Luster paper for his wallet size photo production, and is very happy with the durability of those - The R800/1800 has GO.  And I have used Epson PL on a 2200 for wallet size - never had any complaints about durability.

For those of you that may have experiance with any of these combinations, how might I expect the durability of the 5100 inkset on Epson PL to compare ( without an overspray coating). Or is there a more durable Luster finish paper I may want to look at, that may equal the R800 durability - if that's possable without and Overspray ?
Thanks,
bcf

Brian in
Michigan

DougMorgan

• http://www.bcpanorama.com
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2007, 09:52:18 pm »

I would suggest a dye-sub for the wallet prints.  In terms of durability no ink jet print comes close since there is a laminated clear layer on top of the print.   Absolutely smudge proof from the second it leaves the printer.

Personally I have a mitsubishi dye-sub that I use for event printing and though expensive it is top notch.  Sony makes a similar unit and Kodak or Hiti make cheaper ones.   Note that with a dye sub you are buying a system -- printer, paper, and ribbons all usually come from the same manufacturer and the exact price per print though possibly higher is known in advance.   Also you can print smaller sizes that are a pain (or impossible) to print on a wide carraige.  Look at the minimum print size for the 5100.