Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: LR 1.2 Update and Library back up  (Read 2499 times)

KeithR

LR 1.2 Update and Library back up
« on: September 15, 2007, 08:46:52 pm »

I read about the update and downloaded it, but I have not launched it yet. I read on the download page:

"Important note
If you have not backed up your Lightroom library, please do so before upgrading to Lightroom 1.2 and choose the optional "Test this database for corruption" feature during the backup.

I am not exactly sure what this means. If I launch the upgrade, will this mean that everything in my library will be lost or at the very least unuseable? What would I need to do to back up the library? When I download off my CF cards, I know that they go into folders I created on my hard drive, and can always navigate to them. but I also know that LR creates folders that make up the "Library" and the changes that I make reside only within that library. Never had come across this before as I'm new to LR and not sure how to procede.
When I originaly loaded 1.0, I also updated to 1.1 at the same time. I had not uploaded any images at that time so I had no Library to be concerned with. Now I do, so that is why I'm cautious at this point.
The destination is our goal but it’s the journey we experience

Richowens

« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2007, 08:54:00 pm »

Keith,

Just do a backup of your library with the "check for corruption" box checked. Nothing to worry about, just a precaution.

For what it's worth, I installed 1.2 before reading that and had no problems with anything.

Oh, one thing I noted was I had to reboot the computer before CS2 would run correctly after the upgrade, but Lightroom never missed a beat.

Rich

Mark D Segal

• Contributor
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2007, 09:05:21 pm »

Rich,