Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Camera Raw Sharpening  (Read 2743 times)

Wolfman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
    • www.bernardwolf.com
Camera Raw Sharpening
« on: August 26, 2007, 01:50:48 PM »

I use sharpening in the detail section of Camera Raw 4.1 in CS3 for capture sharpening and now for some unknown reason when I apply the sharpening it doesn't show up when I open the image into PS and in the detail window it says sharpening for previews only. It didn't do that when I first started using CR 4.1. I'm on an Intel Mac. Anybody else have this happen and what's the solution?
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8136
Camera Raw Sharpening
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2007, 02:03:41 PM »

Quote
....it says sharpening for previews only....
Well, that's the source of your problem. If you choose "Sharpening for Previews Only", sharpening will only be applied in ACR - for previewing - but not to the final image.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2007, 02:04:25 PM by francois »
Logged
Francois

Wolfman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
    • www.bernardwolf.com
Camera Raw Sharpening
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2007, 02:05:49 PM »

Quote
Well, that's the source of your problem. If you choose "Sharpening for Previews Only", sharpening will only be applied in ACR - for previewing - but not to the final image.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135623\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I realize that, but I'm also not finding anything that allows me to change the previews only dialog.
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8136
Camera Raw Sharpening
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2007, 02:13:03 PM »

Quote
I realize that, but I'm also not finding anything that allows me to change the previews only dialog.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135625\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Open a RAW file in ACR and choose Camera Raw Preferences (CMD + K). In the pref window go to Apply sharpening to:   and choose All images.
Logged
Francois

Wayne Fox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3548
    • waynefox.com
Camera Raw Sharpening
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2007, 02:13:37 PM »

Quote
I realize that, but I'm also not finding anything that allows me to change the previews only dialog.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135625\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

The setting is in the camera Raw Preferences dialog, which you can open from the Photoshop menu when Camera Raw is open.
Logged

Wolfman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
    • www.bernardwolf.com
Camera Raw Sharpening
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2007, 02:19:35 PM »

Thanks folks...... I overlooked that preference.... my bad.  Somehow that preference changed from sharpen all images to preview only.
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8136
Camera Raw Sharpening
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2007, 02:21:59 PM »

No problem, glad to see that your problem is solved.

 
« Last Edit: August 26, 2007, 02:22:16 PM by francois »
Logged
Francois
Pages: [1]   Go Up