Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Brits are mugs... official  (Read 8955 times)

jamie_m_

• http://www.mymoodphotography.com
Brits are mugs... official
« on: August 22, 2007, 01:12:59 pm »

As a UK resident I've almost got used to paying a bit more for technology than either US or EU customers.... although I've never really accepted the currency hedging/smaller market excuses we are usually fobbed off with.

I had hoped that there had been sufficient backlash at the CS3 rip-off perpetrated by Adobe to cause multi-nationals to be more considerate, but it seems that Canon are determined to rip us off too.

At $8000 for a 1Ds3... I'd dreamed of a £4000 price tag, although I'd expect £5000, maybe even £5500 from looking at the euro price, but £6000 ???

Do we all have MUG printed on our foreheads?
MyMoodPhotography
[url=http://www.mymood

Quentin

• Quentin on Facebook
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2007, 01:32:25 pm »

As a UK resident I've almost got used to paying a bit more for technology than either US or EU customers.... although I've never really accepted the currency hedging/smaller market excuses we are usually fobbed off with.

I had hoped that there had been sufficient backlash at the CS3 rip-off perpetrated by Adobe to cause multi-nationals to be more considerate, but it seems that Canon are determined to rip us off too.

At $8000 for a 1Ds3... I'd dreamed of a £4000 price tag, although I'd expect £5000, maybe even £5500 from looking at the euro price, but £6000 ???

[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134835\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Sometimes it works the other way, as has happened in the past with Mamiya equipment, and its not just the UK, Europe as a whole often suffers.  But I agree, the UK pricing of Photoshop CS3, and the preposterous excuses given for it, set a new benchmark in disingenuity.  I don't own Canon kit and I have not the slightest intention of buying the 1Ds III.

Quentin
« Last Edit: August 22, 2007, 01:35:50 pm by Quentin »