Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: flashlight for night focus  (Read 3963 times)

stever

flashlight for night focus
« on: August 12, 2007, 12:30:40 am »

i've had some mixed experience with spotlighted nightlife and would like not to be totally dependent on the guides judgement

i'm looking for a reasonably compact light source to allow autofocus at 50-100 ft - don't need full illumination, just enought lignt on the subject to get focused

wolfnowl

• M&M's Musings
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2007, 01:42:27 am »

Keep in mind that spotlighting wildlife - with or without having a rifle present is considered illegal in probably every province and state in Canada and the US.

Mike.
If your mind is attuned t

stever

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2007, 10:44:43 am »

for the record, i'm not going to do it in the US or Canada, hence the need for something reasonably packable

pminicucci

« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2007, 11:16:43 am »

Take a look here;

http://www.opticsplanet.net/flashlights.html

You ought to be able to find something.
Best,
Pat

Don Libby

• Iron Creek Photography
    • Iron Creek Photography
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2007, 02:06:13 pm »

If all you want to do is have a method of getting a focus, then you might want to consider using a small laser pen.  While I haven't used it for wildlife at night yet, I have used it during the day with success.

don

Jonathan Wienke

• http://visual-vacations.com/
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2007, 05:39:00 pm »

A simple cheap red laser pointer aimed where you want focus centered works great.

stever

« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2007, 02:55:51 am »

thanks, i have some concern about using the laser, but will try it