Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Soft Proof question in CS3  (Read 5348 times)

cabasner

Soft Proof question in CS3
« on: August 06, 2007, 04:46:04 pm »

Hello all,

First, I want to say that the "From Camera to Print" video done by Jeff Schewe and Mike is one of the best all around digital image primers I have seen (not that I'm an expert).  It goes into great detail and just covers so much.

That said, the chapter on soft proofing, while I understand what Jeff was talking about, brought to my mind a fundamental question.  What Jeff was doing was comparing the image that he had created in ProFoto RGB color space, to the soft proofed image that was generated using the profile for (in the case on the video) the Epson 3800 printer.  He then went on to modify, to some degree, the image so that the soft proofed image, which was the image to be printed, matched, as far as possible, the original, non soft proofed image.  What doesn't make any sense is why we would simply not edit the image under soft proof condition FROM THE BEGINNING, rather than edit it under other conditions, then try to 'backfit' the soft proof to match the image we just so painfullly worked on to get perfect.

WHAT AM I MISSING????

picnic

« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2007, 05:37:20 pm »

Hello all,

First, I want to say that the "From Camera to Print" video done by Jeff Schewe and Mike is one of the best all around digital image primers I have seen (not that I'm an expert).  It goes into great detail and just covers so much.