Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Z3100 complaints  (Read 4729 times)

Geoff Wittig

Z3100 complaints
« on: June 18, 2007, 09:14:48 am »

If your only source of information on HP's Z3100 series printers was this forum, you'd probably come away thinking they are deeply, even fatally flawed. I am amazed by the anger and bitterness of many posts complaining about various problems or defects attributed to these products. Yes, I understand the frustration that comes from laying down something approaching $5,000 (U.S.) for a big purchase only to find it has some issues. I own one, and it's likely the last printer I'll be buying for a long time. I've struggled with some of its quirks and cursed after seeing head strikes (that were mostly my fault.) But really, people.

I think folks should take a deep breath and look at the big picture.
I have no affiliation with HP, I'm not a photo professional, and I have no secret knowledge. However, I have been printing digitally for about 10 years, going way back to the original HP Photosmart "Pizza oven" printer and a balky Epson 1200. My first large format printer was Epson's 7600. Perhaps people have forgotten, but when that printer came out it was initially almost unusable due to abysmally bad linearity and difficulty with profiling. In my case I didn't get really good results with it until Bill Atkinson's profiles became available, after wasting a ton of expensive ink. Then there was the dreaded black ink swap problem, which meant users had to stick with matte black on fine art paper, or photo black on photo paper, or blow something approaching $100 in ink on the changeover.