Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Corrupted image  (Read 4970 times)

jeepsr4girlz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Corrupted image
« on: June 05, 2007, 08:08:44 AM »

Hello again, I am still looking for help regardarding pictures on my Canon Rebel xti.......pictures lllok fne on screen, when dowloaded, some say currupted on computer and on camera screen, and then others have a "distorted" look, like cut in half in two colors.  Could this be the camera?  If so, it is still under warranty, but maybe something else?  and a solution?  Thanks in advance!
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7785
Corrupted image
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2007, 08:26:03 AM »

Quote
Hello again, I am still looking for help regardarding pictures on my Canon Rebel xti.......pictures lllok fne on screen, when dowloaded, some say currupted on computer and on camera screen, and then others have a "distorted" look, like cut in half in two colors.  Could this be the camera?  If so, it is still under warranty, but maybe something else?  and a solution?  Thanks in advance!
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=121214\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Well, either your camera is defective or your memory cards or your card reader. You could try with different memory cards, different card readers and see if your problem still persists.
Logged
Francois

Ken Alexander

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
    • http://
Corrupted image
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2007, 09:23:45 AM »

Quote
Hello again, I am still looking for help regardarding pictures on my Canon Rebel xti.......pictures lllok fne on screen, when dowloaded, some say currupted on computer and on camera screen, and then others have a "distorted" look, like cut in half in two colors.  Could this be the camera?  If so, it is still under warranty, but maybe something else?  and a solution?  Thanks in advance!
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=121214\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I'd try a few things:  a) try another memory card in your camera,  try the memory card from your xti in another digital camera if you have one or can borrow one.  

Then see what happens to the problem.  If you try another card in your camera and the problem persists then suspect your camera.  If it goes away then suspect your original memory card.  If you use your existing memory card in another camera and the problem occurs with that camera then suspect the memory card.

One other thing...I'd format the memory card in your camera if you haven't already.  The camera manual will tell you how to do that.  It's possible that strange things might happen if you use the card in your camera and it hasn't been formatted by the camera first.

Finally, if the camera is still under warranty I'd march it right back to where you bought it from and let them worry about it.

Hope this is of some help!

Ken
Logged

jeepsr4girlz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Corrupted image
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2007, 07:57:06 AM »

Thank you both.  I was able to format my card on the camera, I wll take a few shots today and see what happens!

Quote
I'd try a few things:  a) try another memory card in your camera,  try the memory card from your xti in another digital camera if you have one or can borrow one. 

Then see what happens to the problem.  If you try another card in your camera and the problem persists then suspect your camera.  If it goes away then suspect your original memory card.  If you use your existing memory card in another camera and the problem occurs with that camera then suspect the memory card.

One other thing...I'd format the memory card in your camera if you haven't already.  The camera manual will tell you how to do that.  It's possible that strange things might happen if you use the card in your camera and it hasn't been formatted by the camera first.

Finally, if the camera is still under warranty I'd march it right back to where you bought it from and let them worry about it.

Hope this is of some help!

Ken
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=121225\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged

marcmccalmont

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1767
Corrupted image
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2007, 09:32:00 PM »

Do you have any parental control software running in the backround? I had similar problems in the past on the "Family" computer
Marc
Logged
Marc McCalmont

Tim May

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
Corrupted image
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2007, 02:27:26 PM »

I have had the same problem.  Thanks for the info!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up