Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Problem with CS2  (Read 2604 times)

Alexis Alvarez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/madame_suzuki
Problem with CS2
« on: May 29, 2007, 01:31:00 AM »

Why does it take so long for CS2 to quit?  Lately I end up having to force-quit almost every time I use the program.  

I'm working on a MacBook Pro, Mac OS 10.4.9, 2GHz processor, 1GB hh7 MHz RAM, and got the software just a couple of months ago.

Thanks.

aa

Schewe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
    • http:www.schewephoto.com
Problem with CS2
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2007, 01:53:42 AM »

Quote
Why does it take so long for CS2 to quit?  Lately I end up having to force-quit almost every time I use the program. 

I'm working on a MacBook Pro, Mac OS 10.4.9, 2GHz processor, 1GB hh7 MHz RAM, and got the software just a couple of months ago.

Thanks.

aa
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120077\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Don't know specifically about slow to quit but you realize you ARE running emulated in Rosetta? That's what CS3 addresses (and it runs a LOT faster with MacIntels).
Logged

Alexis Alvarez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/madame_suzuki
Problem with CS2
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2007, 02:13:43 AM »

Quote
Don't know specifically about slow to quit but you realize you ARE running emulated in Rosetta? That's what CS3 addresses (and it runs a LOT faster with MacIntels).
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=120079\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Sorry, don't understand -- what is it that I am "running emulated in Rosetta"?  

aa

Schewe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
    • http:www.schewephoto.com
Problem with CS2
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2007, 02:22:46 AM »

MacBook Pros are Apple's new Intel version of their PowerBooks...Photoshop CS2 is the older version that in order to run, must run emulated in an system level layer that emulates the old PowerPC code. As such it will run slower by far that the recently released Photoshop CS3 which will run nativelty (read a lot faster) on the MacBook Pros...

Part of your issue is prolly that fact CS2 is running slower in emulation...hense the advice to get CS3. If you bought CS2 after CS3 was officially announced on March 27th, you can get a free upgrade. Check with Adobe Customer Service.
Logged

mahleu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 585
    • 500px
Problem with CS2
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2007, 08:27:23 AM »

I'm guessing you have more than one scratch disk and it's taking it's time to close them all when it closes down.

Defraging may help a little.
Logged
______________________________________________________________________
Looking for a wide fast lens (for Canon). Cheap too..
Pages: [1]   Go Up